OER and ZTC by Subject (A-Z)

This is book one in a six-book series on fundamental mathematics for adult learners. These books include glossaries, self tests, practice requests, grades records, and unit tests. Ancillary Resources include the Instructor's Manual. Topics in this book include: number and number operations, patterns, functions and relations, real life applications, geometry, and time.

Six units covering: Sets, Logic, Numeration Systems, Probability, Modular Arithmetic, and Measurement.

Mathematical Reasoning and Investigation is designed to help you develop the ability to use mathematics to solve the kinds of problems that don't come with answers in the back of the book. We like to think of it as a mathematics book for people who think they're not good at mathematics. The work will be useful for anyone wanting to develop their own skills in reasoning and problem solving using mathematics, and for teachers and preservice teachers hoping to help their students to develop these same skills.

Covers: Finance,Sets, Numerations Systems, General Problem Solving, Set Theory, Logic, Consumer Math, Growth Models, Linear Equations, Spreadsheets, and more.

This developmental-level mathematics textbook is intended for career-technical students.

Numeracy is the ability to use and understand numbers. Mathematics is useful in everyday life, especially as a tradesperson. As an apprentice, you will be expected to know how to use certain measuring tools and understand how to measure certain materials. The concepts covered in this book do not apply to just one trade, but many. This book is designed to help you use your hands while you measure and calculate. Offering many examples, this book will help you learn the basics of measuring and many measuring tools. This book also provides insight into the various trades professions.

The Math for Trades: Volume 1 textbook represents the building blocks for math training. The book includes whole numbers, fractions, decimals, and percents. The material is presented from a trades perspective with easy-to-understand examples and video explanations accompanying questions. The goal of this volume is to get students prepared for the more advanced topics that they will encounter during their trades math education.

The Math for Trades: Volume 2 textbook continues where the first volume left off. Volume 2 increases the challenge with topics such as converting units and working with equations, perimeter, area, and volume. Once again the material is presented from a trades perspective with easy-to-understand examples and videos explanations accompanying questions. The goal of this volume is to take the material you learned in Math for Trades: Volume 1 and apply it to more advanced topics that you may encounter during your trades training.

The Math for Trades: Volume 3 textbook continues the tradition that Math for Trades: Volume 1 and Math for Trades: Volume 2 started. This volume continues the journey through math with topics such as capacities, pressure and total force, grade and total fall and trigonometry. These topics take the foundation that as been built in the first two volumes and adds new layers. Once again the material is presented from a trades perspective with easy-to-understand examples and video explanations accompanying questions. There is also a voiceover which follows along with each section and chapter. This material should provide useful in the continuation of your trades training.

This course was designed to allow students to meet their 100-level quantitative reasoning math credit while also fulfilling college requirements for a course with a diversity and social justice designation. Social issues are approached “by the numbers” — giving students a way to apply the math skills covered in a more traditional course setting. These applications encourage students to do more than just learn math calculation skills. Instead, students will get an opportunity to set up the math, interpret their results in an engaging context, and think about the implications of their answers in the today’s society. In an attempt to meet students where they are, each section of the textbook has a way that students can “learn by watching” or “learn by reading”, according to their preference.

Contemporary Mathematics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements for a liberal arts mathematics course. This resource provides stand-alone sections with a focus on showing relevance in the features as well as the examples, exercises, and exposition. Contemporary Mathematics integrates technology applications, projects, and highlights a diverse group of contributors to mathematics, statistics, and related fields.

Are you an instructor who wants to adopt an open textbook, who feels online interactive homework is valuable, but doesn't want their students to have to pay an additional fee? Then read more about using MyOpenMath in the classroom.

Designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for a one-semester prealgebra or basic math course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text introduces the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles. Each topic builds upon previously developed material to demonstrate the cohesiveness and structure of mathematics.

Designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for a one-semester elementary algebra course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text expands on the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles. Each topic builds upon previously developed material to demonstrate the cohesiveness and structure of mathematics.
The second edition contains detailed updates and accuracy revisions to address comments and suggestions from users.

Intermediate Algebra 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester intermediate algebra course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text expands on the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles. The material is presented as a sequence of clear steps, building on concepts presented in prealgebra and elementary algebra courses. The second edition contains detailed updates and accuracy revisions to address comments and suggestions from users. Dozens of faculty experts worked through the text, exercises and problems, graphics, and solutions to identify areas needing improvement. Though the authors made significant changes and enhancements, exercise and problem numbers remain nearly the same in order to ensure a smooth transition for faculty.

The Algebra and Trigonometry 2e revision focused on improving relevance and representation as well as mathematical clarity and accuracy. Introductory narratives, examples, and problems were reviewed and revised using a diversity, equity, and inclusion framework. Many contexts, scenarios, and images have been changed to become even more relevant to students’ lives and interests. To maintain our commitment to accuracy and precision, examples, exercises, and solutions were reviewed by multiple faculty experts.

The College Algebra 2e revision focused on improving relevance and representation as well as mathematical clarity and accuracy. Introductory narratives, examples, and problems were reviewed and revised using a diversity, equity, and inclusion framework. Many contexts, scenarios, and images have been changed to become even more relevant to students’ lives and interests. To maintain our commitment to accuracy and precision, examples, exercises, and solutions were reviewed by multiple faculty experts.

College Algebra with Corequisite Support integrates comprehensive algebraic principles with effective foundational review. Each textbook section is paired with a thoughtfully developed, topically aligned skills module that prepares students for the course material. The modules include conceptual overviews, worked examples, and guided practice.

The College Algebra 2e with Corequisite Support revision focused on improving relevance and representation as well as mathematical clarity and accuracy. Introductory narratives, examples, and problems were reviewed and revised using a diversity, equity, and inclusion framework. Many contexts, scenarios, and images have been changed to become even more relevant to students’ lives and interests.

The mathematics covered in this textbook are at an intermediate algebra level, building upon literacies covered in Mathematical Fundamental and Elementary Algebra.

This textbook is intended as preparation material for students who are moving onto Advanced Functions. It reviews functions, domain and range, transformation of functions, and factoring polynomials.

Covers: General Problem Solving, Microsoft Excel, Math of Finance, Statistics and Collecting Data, Statistics and Describing Data, Statistics and Normal Distribution, and Probability.

Contents: Basic Concepts, Linear Equations, Graphing, Linear Systems, Polynomial Equations, Factoring Polynomials, Rational Expressions, Radicals, and Quadratic Equations.

This book covers the major topics within the study of trigonometry, including vectors and their applications.

Calculus is designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course, incorporating innovative features to enhance student learning. The book guides students through the core concepts of calculus and helps them understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in three volumes for flexibility and efficiency.
Volume 1 covers functions, limits, derivatives, and integration.

Volume 2 covers integration, differential equations, sequences and series, and parametric equations and polar coordinates.

Volume 3 covers parametric equations and polar coordinates, vectors, functions of several variables, multiple integration, and second-order differential equations.

Precalculus is adaptable and designed to fit the needs of a variety of precalculus courses. It is a comprehensive text that covers more ground than a typical one- or two-semester college-level precalculus course. The content is organized by clearly-defined learning objectives and includes worked examples that demonstrate problem-solving approaches in an accessible way.

The Precalculus 2e revision focused on improving relevance and representation as well as mathematical clarity and accuracy. Introductory narratives, examples, and problems were reviewed and revised using a diversity, equity, and inclusion framework. Many contexts, scenarios, and images have been changed to become even more relevant to students’ lives and interests.

Six textbooks related to mathematical logic. Mathematics is really about proving general statements via arguments, usually called proofs. As you no doubt know from arguing with friends, not all arguments are good arguments. A “bad” argument is one in which the conclusion does not follow from the premises, i.e., the conclusion is not a consequence of the premises. Logic is the study of what makes an argument good or bad. Mathematical logic is the subfield of philosophical logic devoted to logical systems that have been sufficiently formalized for mathematical study.

This textbook provides an introduction to proofs, logic, sets, functions, and other fundamental topics of abstract mathematics. It is designed to be the textbook for a bridge course that introduces undergraduates to abstract mathematics, but it is also suitable for independent study by undergraduates (or mathematically mature high-school students), or for use as a very inexpensive supplement to undergraduate courses in any field of abstract mathematics.

Logic is the study of consequence. Given a few mathematical statements or facts, we would like to be able to draw some conclusions. Whenever we find an “answer” in math, we really have a (perhaps hidden) argument. Mathematics is really about proving general statements (like the Intermediate Value Theorem), and this too is done via an argument, usually called a proof. We start with some given conditions, the premises of our argument, and from these we find a consequence of interest, our conclusion. Ch 3. of the textbook Discrete Mathematics.

Logic is, basically, the study of valid reasoning. When searching the internet, we use Boolean logic – terms like “and” and “or” – to help us find specific web pages that fit in the sets we are interested in. After exploring this form of logic, we will look at logical arguments and how we can determine the validity of a claim. Ch. 5 of the textbook Liberal Arts Math.

Ch. 2 of the textbook, Mathematical Ideas. Covers: introduction to Formal Logic, i ntroduction to Truth Tables, Equivalent Logical Statements, as well as Analyzing Symbolic Arguments,, and includes Review Exercises.

Introduces Logic as a systematic way of thinking that allows us to deduce new information from old information and to parse the meanings of sentences. From the textbook, Introduction to College Mathematics.

A Concise Introduction to Logic is an introduction to formal logic suitable for undergraduates taking a general education course in logic or critical thinking, and is accessible and useful to any interested in gaining a basic understanding of logic.

Contents: Variables, Linear Equations, Graphs and Linear Equations, Applications of Linear Equations, Exponents and Roots, Quadratic Equations, Polynomials, Algebraic Fractions, More About Exponents and Root.

Contents: Linear Models, Applications of Linear Models, Quadratic Models, Applications of Quadratic Models, Functions and Their Graphs, Powers and Roots, Exponential Functions, Polynomials and Rational Functions, Equations and Graphs, and Logarithmic Functions.

Lists open textbooks by course title. All the books have been judged to meet the evaluation criteria set by the AIM editorial board.

OpenTextBookStore was created by educators frustrated with the time involved in finding adoptable open textbooks, with the hope to make open textbook adoption easier for other faculty. Many of the courses have course packages available through "MyOpenMath.com" which provides free online homework for several open math textbooks.

Drop by the Math Center in the Learning Commons for in-person help or tutoring, Access Math help online by linking to the Math Center's Blackboard page or visit the Math Zoom room to work with a math tutor. NOTE: Students in Math, Chem, or Physics classes should have access to the Online Math Center in Blackboard. Please reach out if you have any issues or questions.