OER and ZTC by Subject (A-Z)

This eBook was written as the sequel to the eBook titled DC Circuits, which was written in 2016 by Chad Davis. This eBook covers Alternating Current (AC) circuit theory as well as a brief introduction of electronics. It is broken up into seven modules. Module 1 covers the basic theory of AC signals. Since only DC sources are used in the first eBook, details of AC signals such as sinusoidal waveforms (or sine waves), square waves, and triangle waves are provided. Module 2, titled AC Circuits Math Background, covers the mathematics background needed for solving AC circuit problems. The background material in Modules 1 and 2 are combined in Module 3 to solve circuits with AC sources that include resistors, inductors, and capacitors (RLC circuits).

This book covers Direct Current (DC) circuit theory and is broken up into three modules. Module 1 covers the basics for circuits that include DC sources (voltage or current) and resistors. Even though Module 1 is not very difficult, it forms the foundation for more complicated topics in modules 2 and 3 so it is important to have a firm grasp of all Module 1 topics before moving on. Module 2 covers more difficult problem solving techniques for circuits that include only DC sources and resistors. Module 3 introduces capacitors and inductors. These non-linear reactive components are analyzed in the transient and steady state regions in circuits with DC sources in Module 3. Also annexed is a two-page cheat sheet that ENGR 2431 students at University of Oklahoma can use for exams.

Digital circuits, often called Integrated Circuits or ICs, are the central building blocks of a Central Processing Unit (CPU). To understand how a computer works, it is essential to understand the digital circuits which make up the CPU. This text introduces the most important of these digital circuits; adders, decoders, multiplexers, D flip-flops, and simple state machines.

Contains video lectures and associated study guides used to support the flipped classroom approach to teaching basic electricity and electronics.

Capacitors and transient analysis of the capacitor charge and discharge process, inductors and transient analysis of the inductor storage and release process, sinusoidal properties, complex numbers, complex impedances, phasors, AC Ohm's Law, series AC circuit analysis, parallel AC circuit analysis, series-parallel AC circuit analysis.

Apparent, real, and reactive power, power factor, power factor correction, transformers, transformer connection diagrams, non=-ideal transformers, transformer efficiency, delta-y conversions involving complex impedances, AC current sources, AC source conversion, AC superposition theorem, AC Thevenin's theorem, AC maximum power transfer theorem, 3 phase AC systems, balanced and unbalanced 4 and 3 wire Y configurations, balanced and unbalanced delta configurations, single wattmeter method, two wattmeter method, phase sequence detection, and 3 phase AC power factor correction.

This book was written for an experimental freshman course at the University of Colorado. The course is now an elective that the majority of our electrical and computer engineering students take in the second semester of their freshman year, just before their first circuits course. Our department decided to offer this course for several reasons:
we wanted to pique student' interest in engineering by acquainting them with engineering teachers early in their university careers and by providing with exposure to the types of problems that electrical and computer engineers are asked to solve;
we wanted students entering the electrical and computer engineering programs to be prepared in complex analysis, phasors, and linear algebra, topics that are of fundamental importance in our discipline;
we wanted students to have an introduction to a software application tool, such as MATLAB, to complete their preparation for practical and efficient computing in their subsequent courses and in their professional careers;
we wanted students to make early contact with advanced topics like vector graphics, filtering, and binary coding so that they would gain a more rounded picture of modern electrical and computer engineering.

This book is written as an introductory text, meant for those with little or no experience with computers or information systems. While sometimes the descriptions can get a little bit technical, every effort has been made to convey the information essential to understanding a topic while not getting bogged down in detailed terminology or esoteric discussions.
Information Systems for Business and Beyond was written by Dr. David Bourgeois and originally published in 2014 as part of the Open Textbook Challenge at the Saylor Foundation. Since then, it has been accessed thousands of time and used in many courses worldwide. This 2019 update to the textbook brings it up to date and adds many new topics. True to its open textbook roots, many of the updates have come from the community of instructors and practitioners who are passionate about information systems.

This free electrical engineering textbook provides a series of volumes covering electricity and electronics. The information provided is great for students, makers, and professionals who are looking to refresh or expand their knowledge in this field. These textbooks were originally written by Tony R. Kuphaldt and released under the Design Science License. It has since then been updated by members of the All About Circuits community and editorial team.

In this book, you will learn about all three kinds of interaction. In all three cases, interesting software techniques are needed in order to bring the computations into contact, yet keep them suffciently at arm's length that they don't compromise each other's reliability. The exciting challenge, then, is supporting controlled interaction. This includes support for computations that share a single computer and interact with one another, as your email and word processing programs do. It also includes support for data storage and network communication. This book describes how all these kinds of support are provided both by operating systems and by additional software layered on top of operating systems, which is known as middleware.

The goal of this text, as its name implies, is to allow the reader to become proficient in the analysis and design of circuits utilizing modern linear ICs. It progresses from the fundamental circuit building blocks through to analog/digital conversion systems. The text is intended for use in a second year Operational Amplifiers course at the Associate level, or for a junior level course at the Baccalaureate level. In order to make effective use of this text, students should have already taken a course in basic discrete transistor circuits, and have a solid background in algebra and trigonometry, along with exposure to phasors. Calculus is used in certain sections of the text, but for the most part, its use is kept to a minimum. For students without a calculus background, these sections may be skipped without a loss of continuity. (The sole exception to this being Chapter Ten, Integrators and Differentiators, which hinges upon knowledge of calculus.)
There is also a lab manual for this textbook.

The goal of this text, as its name implies, is to allow the reader to become proficient in the analysis and design of circuits utilizing discrete semiconductor devices. It progresses from basic diodes through bipolar and field effect transistors. The text is intended for use in a first or second year course on semiconductors at the Associate or Baccalaureate level. In order to make effective use of this text, students should have already taken coursework in basic DC and AC circuits, and have a solid background in algebra and trigonometry along with exposure to phasors. Calculus is used in certain sections of the text but for the most part it is used for equation derivations and proofs, and is kept to a minimum. For students without a calculus background these sections may be skipped without a loss of continuity.

This text introduces the student to the fundamentals of electrical instruments and concepts required in commercial and industrial practice. Units of instruction include: fundamentals of electricity, Ohms law, use of voltmeters, ammeters, ohmmeters, series and parallel circuits, wiring diagrams, and electromagnetic theory. Students will need to have access to a computer and the Internet and have some familiarity with a computer.

This book is designed for use in an introductory course on digital logic design, typically offered in computer engineering, electrical engineering, computer science, and other related programs. Such a course is usually offered at the sophomore level. This book makes extensive use of animation to illustrate the flow of data within a digital system and to step through some of the procedures used to design and optimize digital circuits.

Open Signals and Systems Laboratory Exercises is a collection of lab assignments that have been used in EE 224: Signals and Systems I in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Iowa State University. These lab exercises have been curated, edited, and presented in a consistent format to improve student learning. This second edition provides a thorough coverage of the MATLAB concepts needed to complete each exercise, and incorporates hardware descriptions and explanations into the exercises that had integrated new lab equipment.

Over 150 embeddable or downloadable 3D Simulations in the subject area of Automation, Electro/Mechanical, Process Control, and Renewable Energy. Short 3-7 minute simulations that cover a range of engineering topics to help students understand conceptual engineering topics.
Each video is hosted on Vimeo and can be played, embedded, or downloaded for use in the classroom or online. Other option includes an embeddable HTML player created in Storyline with review questions for each simulation that reinforce the concepts learned.
Made possible under a Department of Labor grant. Extensive storyboard/ scripting work with instructors and industry experts to ensure content is accurate and up to date.

This playlist discusses DC circuit analysis techniques. Topics include: DC math, engineering notation and prefixes, unit conversion, general industrial safety, energy and power, efficiency, capacity factor, basic electrical quantities (voltage, current, resistance, and power), schematics, switches, resistance, fixed resistors, resistor color code, temperature effects on resistance, variable resistors, basic lab practices: prototyping boards, ohmmeters,voltmeters, ammeters, power supplies, Ohm's Law, electrical safety, series DC circuits, Kirchhoff's Voltage Law, voltage divider rule, circuit protection devices (circuit breakers, fuses, GFCIs, overloads), parallel DC circuits, Kirchhoff's Current Law, current divider rule, series-parallel DC circuits, source conversion, complex (delta/wye) circuits, mesh analysis, nodal analysis, Thevenin's theorem, Norton's theorem, maximum power transfer theorem, capacitors, capacitor charging, capacitor discharging, inductors, inductor storage, inductor release, and more!

SPARKS provides realistic simulation-based assessments for students in college-level introductory electronics courses. Each computer-based simulation challenges students to accomplish a task—for example, making a measurement or trouble-shooting a circuit.