Open Educational Resources: OER and ZTC Resources by Subject (A-Z)

The Mason OER Metafinder helps you find Open Educational Resources. It launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 22 different sources of open educational materials as you hit the Search button. Because it is a real-time, federated search, it can take a bit longer than searches of pre-indexed, curated content; however, as compensation the results returned are absolutely up-to-the-minute for each search target. Additional results will continue to trickle in as the search continues running and you begin examining your results.

The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.

The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material. All of these items have been contributed by the MERLOT member community, who have either authored the materials themselves, or who have discovered the materials, found them useful, and wished to share their enthusiasm for the materials with others in the teaching and learning community. All the materials in MERLOT are reviewed for suitability for retention in the collection. Many undergo the more extensive "peer review" for which MERLOT is famous.

Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 114 different sources and contains 440,269 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.

OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.

The US Department of Labor’s Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program created a free and open online library called SkillsCommons containing free and open learning materials and program support materials for job-driven workforce development. The $1.9 billion investment by the US Department of Labor produced a comprehensive collection of workforce-related Open Educational Resources (OER) created by over 700 community colleges across the nation. The OER can be found, reused, revised, retained, redistributed and remixed by an individual, institution, and industry for FREE with the proper attribution to the original author of the resources.

The Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world. Curated by librarians and their institutions , the Teaching Commons includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, etc. Educators and researchers can use the Teaching Commons to discover teaching materials, adopt content for their courses, or create and share their own work. The Teaching Commons is built on the Digital Commons platform, which offers authors a powerful set of tools-- including multimedia support, versioning, embedded comments, and geo-location, among others -- to support the large variety of publishing needs in this growing field.

Open textbooks, learning objects, and more available in the LibreTexts platform

MIT OpenCourseWare is a free and open collection of material from thousands of MIT courses, covering the entire MIT curriculum.

Over 150 embeddable or downloadable 3D Simulations in the subject area of Automation, Electro/Mechanical, Process Control, and Renewable Energy. Short 3-7 minute simulations that cover a range of engineering topics to help students understand conceptual engineering topics.
Each video is hosted on Vimeo and can be played, embedded, or downloaded for use in the classroom or online. Other option includes an embeddable HTML player created in Storyline with review questions for each simulation that reinforce the concepts learned.
Made possible under a Department of Labor grant. Extensive storyboard/ scripting work with instructors and industry experts to ensure content is accurate and up to date.

List curated by Colorado School of Mines

The BCcampus Open Education Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory lists free science resources designed to support remote science education. This directory is updated as new resources are identified. Note that, while all resources in this directory are free, not all are open. Resources that carry Creative Commons or otherwise open licences are clearly labelled.