LibGuides: OER and ZTC by Subject (A-Z): Spanish Language

Western Technical College Created - OER (OER Fellowship Grant Recipient)

The Open Western Fellowship Program

The Open Western Fellowship program is designed to provide support for faculty in identifying and customizing existing OER and/or creating new OER to align with your course. This work includes creating a custom or localized edition of an existing open textbook, creating a new open textbook or course shell, and creating any necessary ancillary materials (e.g. assessments, slide decks, videos, interactive media). This program is funded through a grant provided by the WTCS and the State of Wisconsin to promote the development and use of Open Educational Resources (OER) to enhance student learning experiences, reduce textbook costs, and promote equitable access to educational materials.

¡Español 1!
¡Hola Learners and Instructors!
You can think of this site as a resource collection and project-based approach to learning the Spanish language. As a learner, you can use this site independently for online self-study. As an instructor, you can remix and adapt the resources for your classes. The site is designed around three projects that help you explore your linguistic identities, relationships between language and culture, community connections to Spanish, and lifelong strategies for language learning. | Tim Brennan

Spanish Language OER: LibreText Platform

Textbook Examples: LibreTexts

Note from LibreTexts:

Jennifer Rogers: “We have a rapidly expanding collection of Spanish OER available on our LibreTexts Commons, and in our open homework and assessment platform, ADAPT. There is a lot happening in this area in the California community colleges, and I would recommend reaching out to Cristina Moon to get her thoughts: cmoon@chabotcollege.edu. If you have any questions about LibreTexts, or ADAPT, please reach out any time: jrogers@libretexts.org.”

Libro Libre: Beginning Spanish (LibreTexts)
One of the most important things we can do to hold ourselves accountable for our learning is to engage in goal setting and metacognition—a fancy term for thinking about the way we think and learn. The goals we set should be specific and achievable. Something like “Speak Spanish” is too broad, we need to focus on the steps we need to take to get there and the signs that we will see as proof of our progress.
Beginning Spanish ¡Empecemos por aquí! (LibreTexts)
Focuses on the development of communication skills in interpretive, interpersonal, and presentational modes while centering student voices. Activities engage learners in real exchanges of information on topics that are relevant to adult students. In addition to language-acquisition learning outcomes, this text supports learning outcomes in diversity, equity, inclusion, cultural sustainability, and social justice.
Spanish II (LibreTexts)
Vocabulary and culture of Nationalities, Ser vs Estar, Days, Months, seasons , weather; Vocabulary and culture of food, Verb IR, the immediate future, direct object pronouns, irregular verbs, the gerund; Vocabulary and culture of technology, numbers beyond 100, past tense, indirect object pronouns; and Vocabulary and culture of the city and activities, reflexive verbs, past tense of irregular verbs, verbs like gustar
Spanish Grammar Manual (LibreTexts)
This is a bilingual grammar manual for advanced students. It can be used for general review and reference in courses from second-year Spanish (B2) up.
Este es un manual bilingüe de gramática para estudiantes avanzados, útil para repaso general y referencia en cursos a partir del segundo año de español como lengua extranjera.
Instructor Guide: Tarea Libre-First-Year Spanish
This is an instructor guide to Tarea Libre. The Tarea Libre project is a comprehensive and accessible Open Educational Resources question bank of 1,400 interactive activities created in LibreStudio and ADAPT for first-year Spanish courses for California Community Colleges [CCC] that can be used via ADAPT or linked to a campus Learning Management System via LTI. This LTI integration seamlessly connects the assigned activities to the grade book streamlining the assigning and grading of homework.
Instructor Guide: Tarea Libre 2-Second-Year Spanish
This is an instructor guide to Tarea Libre 2. The Tarea Libre 2 project is a comprehensive and accessible Open Educational Resources question bank of 800 interactive activities created in ADAPT for second-year Spanish courses for California Community Colleges (CCC) that can be used via ADAPT or linked to a campus Learning Management System via LTI (Learning Tools Interoperability). This LTI integration seamlessly connects the assigned activities to the grade book streamlining the assigning and grading of homework.
Spanish Language OER Textbooks - Multiple Subjects (LibreTexts)
A list of textbooks in Spanish across multiple subject areas - biology, business, social sciences, education, statistics, engineering, physics, geography, humanities, health, math and chemistory.
Bookshelves - Spanish Language (LibreTexts)
Collection of Spanish OER available on LibreText Commons, and their open homework and assessment platform, ADAPT.

Spanish Language OER: Pressbooks Platform

Pressbooks

Comunidades
This is a textbook for first-semester Spanish with a focus on the cultural products, practices and perspectives of Spanish-speaking communities in the world today. This text is designed to build students’ cultural and communicative proficiency at the novice level through interaction with authentic resources and real-life video conversations featuring native Spanish speakers living in the American Midwest. Each chapter includes interactive activities focused on each of the three modes of communication (interpretive, interpersonal and presentational), at least one Integrated Performance Assessment, exercises with automated feedback and prompts that promote cross-cultural comparisons through research and reflection.
JUNTXS :Intermediate Spanish (Pressbooks)
+JUNTXS is an open access educational resource which can be used in conjunction with a variety of approaches to support intermediate learners of Spanish. This media-rich learning resource is designed to guide learners in their Spanish language learning journey through a critical and intercultural lens and to provide regular opportunities to explore, practice and improve their ability to read, speak, and understand this language as it is used across the Spanish-speaking world.
JUNTXS :Introductory Spanish (Pressbooks)
JUNTXS is an open access educational resource which can be used in conjunction with a variety of approaches to support beginning learners of Spanish. This media-rich learning resource is designed to guide learners in their Spanish language learning journey through a critical and intercultural lens and to provide regular opportunities to explore, practise and improve their ability to read, speak, and understand this language as it is used across the Spanish-speaking world.
La lingüística hispánica: Una introducción (Pressbooks)
Este libro, todavía en desarrollo, se dirige a estudiantes de español en universidades estadounidenses y pretende ofrecer una breve y simple introducción a la lingüística hispánica. Incluye conceptos básicos de la lingüística, brinda ensayos que abarcan temas de interés social conectando la lingüística con la vida diaria, y ejercicios para practicar los conceptos. También hay enlaces a materiales relevantes disponibles en la red. El libro está creado enteramente por textos escritos y materiales compartidos por estudiantes mayoritariamente de pregrado y también cuenta con el trabajo y esfuerzo de estudiantes-editoras en un proyecto a largo plazo de pedagogía abierta.
Let's Chat! Spanish (Pressbooks)
Let’s Chat! Spanish features a collection of over 100 interpersonal speaking activities for novice and intermediate learners. Touching on a range of thematic topics such as free time activities, travel, daily routines, health, the environment, art, etc.
Para vivir con salud
leyendo la salud y la literatura
Semillas: Elementary Spanish I
Semillas: Elementary Spanish I is a comprehensive introductory Spanish open-access textbook with reading, listening, speaking, and writing practice. To ensure that our textbook is diverse and inclusive we have built a team of writers who cross gender, age, and nationality. We have consulted with people whose voices represent diverse demographic segments of the Spanish-speaking world to include a plurality of pronunciations and appearances. This textbook underwent a rigorous review process that included professionals from more than ten higher education organizations in the United States.
Ventanas Abiertas I
This book is the first in our introductory sequence of the Spanish language. We designed it to accompany our Spanish 101 course at Gettysburg College. In it you will find sections on vocabulary, grammar, and culture, all with helpful links and videos to enhance student learning. Each chapter provides an introductory statement on its specific learning objectives as well as links to the individual lessons. In turn, at the end of each lesson there are communicative activities to work on in the classroom.
Ventanas Abiertas II
This book is the second in our introductory sequence of the Spanish language. We designed it to accompany our Spanish 102 course at Gettysburg College. In it you will find sections on vocabulary, grammar, and culture, all with helpful links and videos to enhance student learning. Each chapter provides an introductory statement on its specific learning objectives as well as links to the individual lessons. In turn, at the end of each lesson there are communicative activities to work on in the classroom.
Yo puedo: para empezar (Pressbooks)
Materials that take a new approach to learning a second language based upon the skills that we deem most useful and that will enable our students to confidently express themselves in Spanish.The text is designed for beginning Spanish language students. The pedagogical approach incorporates the flipped classroom methodology.

Spanish Language OER: Other

Textbooks and Resources

Spanish I: Beginning Spanish Language and Culture
This peer-reviewed textbook is designed for the true beginner with U.S. college students in mind. It contains themed chapters, which are divided into 8 sections. Each section has its own set of learning objectives, and is further separated into three types of assignments, Para estudiar en casa (with detailed explanations), Para practicar en casa (homework exercises), and Para practicar en clase (paired and group classwork activities). The explanations and primary input are written to be easily comprehensible. The individual exercises are geared towards acquisition of form and function, and the communicative classwork exercises promote interpersonal exchanges between students. The digital copy includes some embedded audio files, and we are developing a website to house many more resources.
Spanish Grammar in Context
Viable/ Ancillary -- You will find detailed grammar explanations of the Spanish language. Unlike traditional reference grammars, each topic is explained using authentic video examples from the Spanish in Texas project. Accompanying practice quizzes are available on an open Canvas course site.
Itinerarios didácticos
Una colección de recursos de aprendizaje, organizados en itinerarios didácticos y creados por docentes en activo, para Educación Primaria y Educación Secundaria Obligatoria. El profesorado podrá hacer uso de las secuencias completas o utilizar los recursos de modo independiente. Todos ellos se publican con una licencia abierta (Creative Commons Reconocimiento-CompartirIgual 4.0) e incluyen el archivo fuente para su descarga y posible edición posterior.
Manual de gramática y composición
Este libro está diseñado para estudiantes de nivel intermedio tirando a avanzando (entre B1 y C1, digamos). En él se provee información sobre la gramática del español (es decir, del castellano) e indicaciones para mejorar las destrezas relacionadas con la composición. Cuando sea posible, se proponen páginas adicionales con ejercicios interactivos para continuar el estudio de los temas presentados. Este libro es una combinación y adaptación, u OER remix, de varios textos abiertos con mis propias aportaciones.
CSU Pueblo World Languages
These resources have been produced by a group of instructors at CSU Pueblo as part of an Open Education initiative to create a Zero Cost Textbook program for Spanish at our Hispanic Serving Institution. Our goal is that any student studying Spanish at CSU Pueblo will never have to pay for textbooks. We also want to make sure our materials are relevant to our students' needs and experiences. This initiative was possible through a grant from the Colorado Commission on Higher Learning and our Department Development Funds.
Yo puedo: segundos pasos
We sought to address a common statement by students that may have previous experiences, be they from secondary school or another college that say, “I have studied Spanish for years and don’t know how to speak or write it.” We also sought to present a reasonable alternative to the expensive textbooks and online packages that don’t seem to be practical or relevant. We sought to enhance second language learning by creating our own materials that take a new approach, the flipped classroom model, to learning a second language based upon the skills that we deem most useful and that will enable our students to confidently express themselves in Spanish–tú puedes con Yo puedo 2.
GFC Global - Basic Spanish
This free tutorial covers some of the most common Spanish greetings and phrases
OER Resources for Elementary Spanish
Spanish language content - textbooks and supplemental/ancillary material (not limited to any formats).
OpenStax OER Textbooks in Spanish
Revisado por pares. Con licencia abierta. 100% gratis. Y respaldado por recursos de aprendizaje adicionales. Revise nuestros libros de texto de OpenStax y decida si son adecuados para su curso. Fácil de adoptar, de uso gratuito. Facilitamos la mejora del acceso de los estudiantes a la educación superior.
Lista de Repositorios, Motores de Búsqueda, y Sitios Web con licencias REA
Puedes encontrar contenidos educativos REA en la siguiente lista de repositorios, motores de búsqueda y páginas web. Última actualización de esta lista: Mayo 2022

Western Library Databases

Western Library Spanish Databases for Research

Videos: Using and Searching Western Library Databases
Learn how to access and search Western Library databases in these short videos created by Western Librarian, Ellen Range.

Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A database for Spanish-speaking users that contains a wide range of reference and full-text art articles from Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines (revistas, publicaciones académicas, noticias, imágenes, and videos) both from and about Latin America. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool (Buscador de temas).