OER and ZTC by Subject (A-Z)

History of Art Survey course covering from prehistoric art to the Italian Renaissance. Cover image Lascaux Cave_France. Authored by Associate Professor Emeritus Bruce Schwabach, Herkimer Community College (SUNY)

History of Art Survey course covering from the Proto-Renaissance period through the present. Authored by Associate Professor Emeritus Bruce Schwabach, Herkimer Community College (SUNY)

The humanities are those areas of thought and creation whose subject is human experience. Broadly speaking, the humanities are objects or experiences created by human beings. The role of the human creator, therefore, is central to any study of the humanities since, ultimately, they are a record of human experience

This book aims to act as a map through the world of African art. It will help define the competencies needed to develop skills in–visual analysis research, identifying critical information, asking questions, and writing down your observations. Learn new art forms and the worlds that created them. This text is a work in progress.. we proceed through the course.

Fifteen modules begin covering the development of art from the periods between the Pre-Historic Era and Gothic Eras.

Fifteen modules begin with an introduction to important art historical concepts and terms, continuing through the major art periods from the proto-Renaissance to Post-Colonialism and art in the 21st century.

Thirty modules covers the major periods of art across all continents beginning with the Stone Age.

A remarkable and comprehensive textbook that offers a detailed and thorough exploration of the contributions of women artists throughout history. With ten chapters covering the earliest days of art to the present day, this resource is essential for students studying Art History and Gender Studies. Our extensive research has shown that women artists are equally, if not more, talented than their male counterparts, and Herstory is designed to highlight their incredible achievements and contributions to the art world. By promoting a more equitable and inclusive understanding of art history, Herstory aims to enhance education and encourage a deeper appreciation of women artists' work through the ages. -- “You cannot understand the art without understanding the culture.” - Gustlin

Comprehensive chronological coverage of art history from the paleolithic and neolithic periods to art post-1980. Includes sections on "art that brings U.S. history to life" and "at-risk cultural heritage."

Smarthistory, the Center for Public Art History. Described by the College Art Association as " more germane to students’ consumption patterns and learning habits than a ten-pound textbook." Debuted in 2007 it allows students to access videos modeling in-depth visual analysis of well-known works of art and architecture; well-researched essays on single works of art as well as their overarching themes, and quality images that represent a global art history survey, all free on the web.

Seven modules about art and why it matters: : 1) What is Art? 2) Elements of Art and Principles of Design. 3) Context and Perspective. 4) Fine Art Media and Technique 5) Art History (Prehistory to Rococo) 6) Art History (The Modern West & Non-Western Art) 7) Writing About Art.

This course might be better called “Introduction to Visual Culture” because that is what we are all engaged with from the moment we wake up until the end of our day. When you turn on your television, open your phone or computer, or simply walk outside you have already accessed visually any number of aesthetic objects that someone – for our purposes we’ll call her an artist – made choices about in its presentation. From the packaging of your cereal to the design of your bicycle, the components and techniques artists use to make another visual medium we call “fine art” are tapped.

Jacob Lawrence (1917-2000) is widely recognized as one of the most important American artists of the 20th century. He is best known for epic multi-panel narratives like the Migration Series (1940-1941) and Struggle: from the History of the American People (1954-56), which he created as a young artist living and working in in New York City. The second half of Lawrence’s career, which he spent in Seattle as a Professor of Art at the University of Washington, has received far less attention. The essays in this volume, researched and written by the participants in the Spring 2021 art history seminar “Art and Seattle: Jacob Lawrence” at the University of Washington School of Art + Art History + Design, fill in this gap. In so doing, we take our lead from the artist’s own framing of the Seattle period as a critical stage in his artistic development, in which conceptual and formal concerns explored across his long career converged and became more of the sum of their parts.

LibreTexts. Art appreciation is centered on the ability to view art throughout history, focusing on the cultures and the people, and how art developed in the specific periods. You cannot understand art without understanding the culture, their use of materials and sense of beauty. Art is also conveyed by the simple act of creating art for art’s sake. Every person is born with the innate desire to create art and similar to other professions, training is essential in honing skills to produce art.

Introduction to Art: Design, Context, and Meaning offers a comprehensive introduction to the world of Art. Authored by four USG faculty members with advance degrees in the arts, this textbook offers up-to-date original scholarship. It includes over 400 high-quality images illustrating the history of art, its technical applications, and its many uses. Combining the best elements of both a traditional textbook and a reader, it introduces such issues in art as its meaning and purpose; its structure, material, and form; and its diverse effects on our lives. Its digital nature allows students to follow links to applicable sources and videos, expanding the students’ educational experiences beyond the textbook. Introduction to Art: Design, Context, and Meaning provides a new and free alternative to traditional textbooks, making it an invaluable resource in our modern age of technology and advancement.

This course is an exploration of visual art forms and their cultural connections for the student with little experience in the visual arts. It includes a brief study of art history and in depth studies of the elements, media, and methods used in creative processes and thought. In this course, students will learn how to develop a five-step system for understanding visual art in all forms based on:
-Description: Explaining a work of art from an objective point of view, its physical attributes, and formal construction.
-Analysis: A detailed look at a work of art that combines physical attributes with subjective statements based on the viewer’s reaction to the work.
-Context: Any historical, religious, or environmental information that surrounds a particular work of art and which helps to understand the work’s meaning.
-Meaning: A statement of the work’s content. A message or narrative expressed by the subject matter.
-Judgment: A critical point of view about a work of art concerning its aesthetic or cultural value.

A peer-populated platform for educators who use visual and material culture in their teaching practice. Home to an evolving and collectively authored repository of open educational content, AHTR serves as a collaborative virtual community for art history instructors at all stages of their academic and professional careers. The website supports learning in the classroom, in the museum, and online by blending traditional and technological approaches to pedagogy. Inspired by colleagues at Smarthistory.org, among others, AHTR strives to create similarly engaging materials to support instructors and help them improve students’ understanding of art history and its value.

Discover the story of art and global culture through The Met collection. Chronologies trace the global evolution of art and culture across millennia. Explore essays on a wide range of topics, including artists, materials, movements, and themes. Browse a selection of more than 8,000 works from the collection.

Drawing is a form of visual communication. It is also a cornerstone of both studio and applied visual art fields and is often the first step in visualizing and exploring an art concept. A drawing can be a work unto itself, or a preliminary step in the execution of a work in a different medium.

Covers studio problems in the use and understanding of color and its application to works of art, interior design and graphics, basics of color theory, and color interchange. It also includes image and composition as related to the use of color both functionally and creatively.

The visual art terms separate into the elements and principles of art. The elements of art are color, form, line, shape, space, and texture. The principles of art are scale, proportion, unity, variety, rhythm, mass, shape, space, balance, volume, perspective, and depth. In addition to the elements and principles of design, art materials include paint, clay, bronze, pastels, chalk, charcoal, ink, lightening, as some examples.