The vast majority of Western's resources for health sciences can be found by searching for a topic in one of our library databases. Databases are electronic collections of published information that are collected and organized.
For a list of recommended databases, take a look at the boxes below.
Databases also allow you to search for or within specific publications. Look for the "Publications" button on the main page or use the Advanced Search.
Article requests are able to be requested and delivered electronically via email using our interlibrary loan service, so please contact library@westerntc.edu or submit your request via the ask a librarian form on our website. Just because we don't own it doesn't mean we can't get it for you!
Not sure the best route to go? Want some help locating what you need? Please ask a librarian!
You can find a wide variety of information and resources using library databases. These resources allow you to search for a topic, browse a specific publication, or find articles relevant for your research. Most databases (including the ones below) provide tools such as basic and advanced search boxes, source citations, subject suggestions, and search filters.
Use this database to understand basic concepts taught in your courses. It's also a great database for the first step in your research process. It contains short articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference sources on a wide range of subjects. Get started on your assignment or research project by learning about key people, places, dates, events, concepts, and ideas related to your topic.
A giant database that covers a wide range of topics. Use it to find peer-reviewed scholarly articles, as well as articles from trade journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Don't see what you're looking for? Try browsing our full list of databases, linked below.
Databases are collections of resources that are organized for strategic searching. Browse the full list of library databases and other recommended resources. You can use the filters to look for databases for a specific subject or choose one of the Popular databases if you're not sure where to begin.
Break down your topic into search terms (for best results, use nouns).
The Advanced Search gives you multiple search boxes. This can help you narrow your results and also break down your topic into searchable components.
Within the advanced search, the Document Type or Publication Type category is a good place to specify what you are looking for.
Select the Full Text checkbox to be sure you get whole articles, not just short summaries and citations.
The Publication search can help you target a few specific laboratory medicine journals to search within. Search for "laboratory" or "clinical lab" in the description/summary box to find relevant journals.
Pay attention to the Subject terms you find. Jot down terms relevant to your research, they may lead to better articles.
The Abstract is a concise summary of the article and can give you a sense of whether or not the article will be helpful.
Struggling to identify a primary article (AKA original research)? Look for specific sections such methodology, data set, results, and analysis.
The Cite / Citation tool is very handy for help with citing your sources. Be sure to document your citations and save your articles as you research so you don't have to retrace your steps later.
