LibGuides: Occupational Therapy Assistant Program Guide: Need Help?

Need help with research or finding information?

Connect with a Western Librarian

Chat with us LIVE using the widget at the bottom of your screen
Use the Ask a Librarian submission form
Email us at library@westerntc.edu
Give us a call at 608-785-9142
Stop by the Learning Commons to talk with a librarian in person

We can help you

Navigate the collections inside the library and on the library's website
Learn how to search efficiently to find books and articles in the library and electronic databases
Choose information and resources to help with assignments, papers, and projects
Figure out the right resources or people to answer your question

Your Student Learning Librarians are available to meet with individuals, small groups, and classes to support you in finding information and the right resources for your needs.

Library 101: Using Western Library
This short guide provides students with an overview of how to develop search terms, find books in the library, and use databases on the library website. It also provides links to citing sources and the Learning Commons Writing Center. Includes both video and text-based tutorials.
Library Research for Writing Assignments: A Quick Guide
This short guide gives students an overview of conducting research for writing an essay. It covers the basics of developing search terms, note-taking, finding general background information for a topic using the library database Credo Reference, as well as more focused research using databases like Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) to find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles. Includes both video and text-based tutorials.
Library Research Skills for College: Step-by-Step
This in-depth guide goes into step-by-step detail about the research process. It includes exploring and choosing a topic, developing search terms, basic and advanced search strategies, note-taking, using library databases to find background information at the beginning phases of the research process and peer-reviewed information using scholarly databases. It also provides information about citing sources and links to the Learning Commons Writing Center. Includes both video and text-based tutorials.

Quick Links to Popular Library Resources

Western's Library provides access to a wide variety of resources and materials, including scholarly and academic articles, streaming video, ebooks, magazines, encyclopedias, books in print, and more... all for FREE, using your Western ID.

Student Learning Librarians are also available to help you find the research and information sources you need to complete an assignment, as well as answer any questions you might have about the research process itself.

The Learning Commons - Library and Academic Support Services for Western Technical College

Website: https://www.westerntc.edu/learning-commons
Address: Student Success Center, Room 201, 400 7th Street North, La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone: 608-785-9198 | Email: learningcommons@westerntc.edu

Quick links to popular resources

Choose from our complete list of LibGuides

Search our frequently asked questions...

About the Western Technical College Learning Commons

Hello! In the Learning Commons, student success is our top priority! The Learning Commons is located on the second floor of the Student Success Center, S-201 and is home to Western’s Library and a wide variety of academic support services.

We honor safety, transparency, peer support, collaboration, choice, and intersectional identities on campus and within the broader community. Whether students are seeking a place to study, help with coursework, connection to other campus services, or guidance into how they learn best, we are here to support them.

We provide:

Individualized academic guidance from instructors, peer tutors, subject specialists, and librarians
Access to a wide variety of resources and materials, including computers, printers, electronic resources, books, and more
Academic support in-person, online, one-on-one, and in groups
Private and group study spaces first come, first serve in a casual and relaxing atmosphere

We can help with:

Library and research. We are a full-service academic library providing easy access to a wide variety of resources and materials, including books, databases, and more. Librarians also provide research support, curate resources, create instructional materials, and conduct instruction sessions for students, faculty, and the campus community.
Technology. We have both PC and Mac desktop computers available to current students and staff. Scanners, printers, and a copier are also available for use. We also help students with digital literacy and technology use.
Non-academic resource access. We can connect you with other campus resources like Counseling and Case Management, Access Services, The SPACE, Cavalier Cupboard, and Second Chance Closet.
Writing and communications. Our Writing Center staff are here to support students in all aspects of communications, including reading, writing, and speech, for all subjects and courses.
Science. Anatomy and physiology, Biology, Chemistry, Medical Terminology, and more! The Science Center staff are here to support you in understanding science.
Math. Whether it’s algebra, statistics, business math, or any other math related courses, the Math Center is here to support your success in math!
PALS. Looking for one-on-one support that is tailored to your academic goals and needs? PALS (Personalized Applied Learning Strategies) is 1:1 or small group academic support personalized according to students’ strengths and challenges. Instructors and students work together regularly throughout the term. Please contact us for more information.