Our new Library Search allows you to search Western's Library for articles, books, and journals all from one simple search box.
The pages of this guide explain how to use the various filters and features to locate just what you're seeking, whether it is a peer-reviewed journal article for a class assignment or a book to read just for fun.
(And don't worry, the Databases A-Z list isn't going away!)
The Search Everything option allows you search millions of articles, ebooks, journals, and other Western Library resources from a single search. Use the search box to get started and then use the filters to narrow down the results.
Use the basic search to start your research on a broad topic such as "World War I" or a more complex research topic like "lean manufacturing impact on sustainability." You can also search for a specific book like "The Woman in the Window" or journal such as "Medical Laboratory Observer."
Additional search filters are described below.
The Find Articles tab is configured to search for full-text articles from most Western Library databases. Collecting millions of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers, this is a good place to research a topic, find credible sources for a project, or check if the Library provides access to a specific article.
Get started by searching for a single word like "homelessness," a phrase like "internet of things" or a combination of words such as "college students and sleep."
Additional search filters are described below.
If you have a favorite database or your instructor made a specific recommendation, you can use the Databases A-Z list to access and search any database directly.
The Find Books search is configured to search for print books and ebooks available. Ebooks are available online. Print books are available for checkout from the Learning Commons. You can also request that they be sent to one of Western's Regional Learning Centers for pickup.
Search for a book by title, author, subject, or keyword.
Additional search filters are described below.
Use the Find Journals tab to search for a specific journal title. You can also change the dropdown menu to Keyword and search for journals by subject.
On the results screen, you will see the journals listed along with the collections that have them. Click the collection name to browse through the journal issues.
Additional search filters are described below.
The Full Text filter limits to only items available in full text format (as opposed to just the title or citation).
Open Access includes only content that is freely on the open web. Leaving this box unchecked will include library database content, ebooks, and print books which require Western credentials to access or borrow.
Peer Reviewed limits results to publications that use a peer review process.
The Filter by Format section allows you to specify the kind of resource you're seeking, whether a book, newspaper, video, or article. Format availability will change based on your search.
You can check multiple boxes to include various formats or check just one box if you know exactly what you need.
The Date filters allow you to limit your results by publication date. Limit to those published in the last 5, 10, or 25 years or enter a custom date range.
There are more filters available such as subject and language. You can also expand to search libraries around the world.
Explore the many filters available to you or reach out to a librarian for assistance finding what you need!
