Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Science Resources Overview Guide

General purpose subject guide with resources pertaining to health sciences.

Ways to access Health Science Journals and Periodicals at Western

decorative black and white image of journal articlesSearch for a topic using a health science database

The vast majority of Western's resources for health sciences- (including journal articles) can be found by searching for a topic in one of our library databases. Databases are electronic collections of published information that are collected and organized.

For a list of recommended databases for health sciences, please visit the databases page of this guide.  

Search for a specific publication in a library database

Databases also allow you to search for or within specific publications. See additional information below. 

Browse a print version of the journal or periodical 

There are print journals available for browsing in the Learning Commons. See the list of health science publications below. 

Request a specific article through interlibrary loan

Article requests are able to be requested and delivered electronically via email using our interlibrary loan service, so please contact library@westerntc.edu  or submit your request via the ask a librarian form on our website. Just because we don't own it doesn't mean we can't get it for you!

Not sure the best route to go? Want some help locating what you need? Please ask a librarian

Print Periodicals Available at the Learning Commons (stop by to browse additional titles!)

Note: We paused our print subscriptions in response campus closures and the COVID-19 pandemic. If you have any questions about subscriptions, periodicals, or other library resources, please speak with a librarian or contact library@westerntc.edu

Digital Periodicals Available via Library Databases

Publication Searching

There are many electronic full text periodicals that are available via library databases (included on the "Databases" tab). Use the Advanced Search option to search for (or within) a specific publication, or to search for a subject or program area. If you need help finding or navigating to specific publications, please reach out to a librarian.

Use the publications option to search for or within a particular periodical.


Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.