Skip to main content

LEARNING COMMONS

LC Online Home I'm looking for... News & Announcements LC Online Guided Tour FAQs Submit a Question!

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
A great resource for writing assignments. Browse a wide list of subject categories from the database’s home page to find articles and information from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and multimedia. Content is provided in the fields of biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, psychology, and more. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Students and faculty will find articles ranging from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture. Content from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and multimedia covers agriculture and its related fields. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
A combined reference and research source that features basic facts and overviews as well as in-depth content on more than 5000 influential people from the past and present. Browse people from the home page, figures in subject areas such as history and literature, science and medicine, math and technology, arts and entertainment, and business and sports. Find information from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, as well as primary sources, and multimedia content.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
This database is a basic index tool that points to sources of biographical material on people from all time periods, global locations, and fields of study. It does not contain articles or other full-text sources.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Business students and faculty will find full-text coverage in the fields of accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Business and trade publications are updated daily to reflect the activities of companies and industries worldwide. In addition, this database provides access to a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
A business research database that provides tools for finding information about industries and companies including their histories, SWOT analyses, investment, financial and market share reports, and industry essays. Access comparison charts and case studies to learn practical business skills and decision-making strategies. Find current news, statistical data, and in-depth reports. Set up searches by country, state, city, SIC and NAICS codes, revenue, and number of employees.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
The database version of the classic authoritative automotive repair manual car owners and mechanics have relied on for decades. It covers 30 years’ worth of the popular vehicles and specialty models. Search by year, make, and model to service or repair virtually any system on your vehicle. Also, includes test prep for the Delmar ASE Technician Test.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
A great source of information for essays, speeches, and presentations. Browse a wide range of topic categories from the home page including current events, social sciences, geography, biography, and history, to science and literature. Search for background sources as well as more in-depth content in newspapers, magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, multimedia, and links to quality websites.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
This database focuses on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature found in newspapers, magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, and multimedia. A great source for students and faculty in graphic design, digital media, marketing, leadership and other fields where knowledge and information about communication are important. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Students and faculty can access leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database provides information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas like hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
This database provides comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe. Find current and historical content found in newspapers, magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, and multimedia on such topics as equity and inclusion, health, education, workplace, parenting, professional development, and entrepreneurship. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
An excellent source for students and faculty in law enforcement, and other public safety programs, as well as paralegal training. Useful for students preparing for a career in homeland security; delving into forensic science; investigating crime scenes; developing policy; going to court; writing sociological reports; and much more. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Offers a wide range of articles from popular and industry magazines, journals, and newspapers about cooking, nutrition, the restaurant industry and other food-related topics. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
New
This database focuses on content related to diversity issues in the social sciences and liberal arts from both historical and contemporary perspectives. This collection explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community found in newspapers, magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, and multimedia. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
A great choice for business students. This content is useful for research on starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
A resource for educators in a variety of roles from classroom teachers and administrators, to students preparing for a career in education. Content from magazines, journals, newspapers, and multimedia cover multiple levels of education and educational specialties such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing, as well as insights on issues in administration, funding, and policy. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Content from trade magazines, journals, newspapers, and multimedia provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories for students and entrepreneurs alike within a variety of markets. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Focuses on the physical and social aspects of environmental issues. Browse hundreds of topics covering earth systems, global change, land and water use, populations, legislation, and more. Provides overviews as well as in-depth information from academic journals, news, case studies, conferences, statistics, and multimedia formats.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Examines issues about environmental concerns from diverse perspectives. Coverage ranges from reference material to scholarly content published by the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
This streaming video database provides thousands of videos to help you prepare for life as a college student, as well as life in the workplace. Listen to students, teachers, counselors, workers, and employers discuss a wide range of topics, from how to become a successful test-taker, how to prepare for a job search, and skills, traits, and characteristics employers look for when they are hiring. Topics span the realm of technical and vocational programs, family and consumer science, guidance and counseling, and much more.
New
Find articles from magazines, journals, newspapers, and multi-media in the fields of graphic design, digital media, studio arts, art education, art history, photography, drama, music, and filmmaking. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
New Popular
Find information in multiple Gale databases all at the same time. Enter your search terms into the Power Search bar, and get the results from many different databases in a single list.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Provides access to a range of information from practical aspects to scientific theories. A great resource for students, faculty, biotechnologists, farmers, hobbyists, and landscape architects. Content is drawn from popular and trade magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers, and multimedia. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Covers issues surrounding the role of gender in culture and society in content drawn from popular and trade magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers, and multimedia. Among the topics explored are gender identity, inclusion, equality, family relationships, marriage, children, workplace, health, education, and more. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Browse this multiple-subject database to find topic ideas for assignments in a variety of categories, including news, current events, careers, health, education, history, business, computers and technology, and self-improvement. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Multiple-topic database that represents international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events such as business and technology, the environment and climate change, culture and society, health and medicine, and governments and political systems. Content includes magazine, journal, and news articles, and multimedia. Browse a list of topics from the home page.
New
A great resource for students and professionals, alike. Provides full-text articles from medical journals, magazines, reference works, and multimedia in a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorders to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more. Browse a list of topics from the home page.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Covers various topics related to the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism, as well as the historical and contemporary issues in the hospitality and tourism industries. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Contains valuable content for information technology students, technology professionals, and others in information professions. Updated daily with articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology, including usability, business information, and more. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
A database for Spanish-speaking users that contains a wide range of reference and full-text art articles from Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines (revistas, publicaciones académicas, noticias, imágenes, and videos) both from and about Latin America. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool (Buscador de temas).
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Endorsed by the American Association of Law Libraries whose special advisory committee selects, reviews, and enhances the content. This database provides indexing for law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, and offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, and British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Find biographies, overviews, and reference information, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on nearly 150,000 authors in all fields of literature, from all time periods throughout history and around the world. Content from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and multimedia. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Find reviews of books in a wide variety of subjects including literature, history, education, and psychology, for a general audience, students, academics, and professionals. This unique product provides access to reviews of books, periodicals, audiobooks, and other electronic media. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
A great source to access historical and contemporary literary works and authors, including full-text poems, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and multimedia. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Contains scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily, the content supports key subject areas, such as governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and related issues. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
This full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Content is from major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
New
Includes full-text titles cited in CINAHL to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. A great source for students and faculty in nursing-focused curriculum as well as nursing professionals. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
New
Designed specifically for nurses, this resource provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research and more. Use this resource to find care plans, watch video demonstrations, review concepts, access drug information, and develop nursing skills. Excellent for building both practical skills and theoretical understanding.
New
This database covers the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine, and includes proven treatment techniques and experimental research from trade magazines, news sources, scholarly journals, and multimedia. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Content includes magazines, scholarly journals, news sources, and multimedia that analyzes and contributes to popular culture by offering useful information in social science, history, the visual and performing arts, and humanities. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
This database covers a wide range of fields in the study of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology. A great database for students, faculty, researchers, psychologists, and counselors, and any job or career that involves working with people. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
New
Covers topics of philosophies and religions in a broad range of topics from theological approaches to social issues. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Covers a wide range of today’s most important scientific subjects in the categories of general science, environmental science, math, engineering technology, chemistry, biology, physics, astronomy, and more. Also includes biographies of prominent scientists in history. Search for reference material as well as with full-text articles from academic journals, news articles, experiments, multimedia, and links to quality websites. Browse a variety of topics from the home page.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Covers topics that impacted U.S. History - American Colonies, Native Americans, the African American Experience, Hispanic Americans, government, politics, economics and more. Contains reference material as well as with full-text articles from academic journals, news articles, experiments, multimedia, and links to quality websites. Browse a range of subjects from the home page.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Contains scholarly journals and magazines that can be used by students, faculty, novice historians and advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, this database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
A great tool for students to learn about all aspects of jobs and careers, from required education and training, job searching, and maintaining a career. Content ranges from general career guides to highly specialized industry and trade journals. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
A valuable resource for students and faculty of military science, history, and social science, and other researchers such as analysts, risk management professionals. Gain valuable insight into conflicts, their causes and impacts, as well as how they are perceived on a global scale. Access content from magazines, news sources, scholarly articles and multimedia. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
A great source for reference and in-depth information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. Access content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to quality websites. Browse a variety of topics from the home page including events, trends, cultures, societies, governments, political movements, economics, and religion.
  • Requires MyWestern log-in
  • Access provided by Western Technical College
New
Access reference sources, scholarly journals, and magazines that provide balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
New
This multidisciplinary resource includes a wide range of research materials across the humanities dating back to the colonial period, and examines current issues and events as well. Access content from reference, periodicals, multimedia, reports, studies, journals, newspapers, and statistical data. An archive of digitized primary documents focuses on the history of Latin America and the Caribbean dating back to the early 1800s up to the present. They are sourced from collections in the U.S. and abroad.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...

Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons/Library space may be closed, but our library resources and research guides are available online 24/7.

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.