Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty and Staff Library Resources and Services

This guide gathers resources to assist faculty and staff in using Western's library tools, resources, and services.

Course Reserves (Textbooks in the Learning Commons)

What are course reserves and how do they work? 

We have a small collection of textbooks available at the Learning Commons for in-house use by students. These books are housed on the shelves behind the circulation desk at the Learning Commons and students can ask at the desk to borrow one for an hour or two. 

What do you have on reserve for my course?

Search our library catalog by your course name, course number, or textbook title to see if materials are on reserve for your course. You can also ask a librarian and we'll be happy to help!

Can I put materials on reserve?

Yes! We encourage instructors to share materials with us for their students to borrow and use.

Course reserves are provided to us by the instructor or division and then library staff mark it for reserve use. If instructors receive an updated copy of a text that is already on reserve, send it to the Learning Commons/Library and we will replace the outdated material with the new version.

Can I put something other than a book on reserve?

We are also willing to place other items on reserve for your students to use at the Learning Commons or to check out for a limited period of time (1 day or 7 days are the most common). If this option might meet your needs, please reach out to us at library@westerntc.edu to discuss specifics.

I heard you had a collection of electronic course reserves. How does that work? 

Yes, this is an area that we are continue to explore, pilot, and evaluate. These items show up in the library catalog and a complete list of electronic materials on reserve is below.

Currently, our electronic reserves collection includes two kinds of materials:

(1) Open Educational Resources (OER) that have been adopted as a required text for a Western course. These are freely available for everyone, not just Western students. Your librarians have added and linked them in the library catalog and labeled them as reserves to help make them visible to students and easier for instructional support staff to reference. 

(2) Unlimited user ebook copies of other assigned materials. These are materials that still carry traditional copyrights and have restricted use. However, the library has been able to license or purchase a legal copy that is available for Western students and staff to use. These are (almost always) unlimited user ebooks, which means that many people can use them at the same time and there's no check out limits. They also don't expire, so the book will be available as long as that edition is assigned in the course. Unfortunately, only certain publishers allow books to be licensed by libraries in this way, so it's a somewhat uncommon situation. However, we are always exploring and trying new options!

If you have questions or would like to learn more, please connect with a librarian (or reach out to library@westerntc.edu). We'd love to talk!

Electronic Course Reserves (Ebooks and OER)

Course Number - Ebook title and link

10102122 - Business Model Generation: A Handbook for Visionaries, Game Changers, and Challenger (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10102134 - Principles of Management (OER*) and Principles of Management (OER*)

10102137 Blueprint for Success in College and Career (OER*)

10102210 - PMI Guide to Business Analysis (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10102212 - PMI Guide to Business Analysis (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10102213 - PMI Guide to Business Analysis (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10102214 - PMI Guide to Business Analysis (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10102216 - PMI Guide to Business Analysis (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10102217 - PMI Guide to Business Analysis (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10102219 - PMI Guide to Business Analysis (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10102220 - PMI Guide to Business Analysis (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10104114 Principles of Marketing (OER*)

10104128 Blueprint for Success in College and Career (OER*)

10104172 - Retail Management (OER*)

10152185 Google Android Developer Training (OER*)

10152187 Pro ASP.NET Core MVC 2, 7th ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10196134 Fair, Square, and Legal: Safe Hiring, Managing, and Firing Practices to Keep You and Your Company Out of Court, 4th ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10196188 - The Standard for Project Management and a Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge, 7th ed.  (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10196188 - Fundamentals of Project Management5th ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10196192 - The Certified Quality Improvement Associate Handbook, 4th ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10307188 - Beyond Behavior Management: The Six Life Skills Children Need, 2nd ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login) and Preschool Classroom Management: 150 Teacher-Tested Techniques (Western Library ebook, requires Western login) 

10196193 The Job Description Handbook, 3rd ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10206141 After Effects Apprentice: Real-World Skills for the Aspiring Motion Graphics Artist, 4th ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10304137 - The Codes Guidebook for Interiors, 8th ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10317149 Design and Layout of Foodservice Facilities, 3rd ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10481100 - Energy: Management Supply and Conservation, 2nd ed(Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10481111 - Energy: Management Supply and Conservation, 2nd ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10481113 - Energy: Management Supply and Conservation, 2nd ed(Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10513170 - Molecular Diagnostics, 3rd ed(Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10514176 - The OTA's Guide to Documentation: Writing SOAP Notes, 4th ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login) and Group Dynamics in Occupational Therapy : The Theoretical Basis and Practice Application of Group Intervention, 5th ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10514178 The OTA's Guide to Documentation: Writing SOAP Notes, 4th ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login) and Group Dynamics in Occupational Therapy : The Theoretical Basis and Practice Application of Group Intervention, 5th ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10514179 - supplemental resource: Developing Occupation-Centered Programs With the Community, 3rd ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10514182 The OTA's Guide to Documentation: Writing SOAP Notes, 4th ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login) 

10514183 The OTA's Guide to Documentation: Writing SOAP Notes, 4th ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login) 

10520101 - Emotional Intelligence 2.0 (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10520190 - Psychoeducational Groups: Process and Practice, 4th ed(Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10524144 - Umphred's neurorehabilitation for the physical therapist assistant, 3rd ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

10605201 Biomedical Device Technology: Principles and Design, 2nd ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login) 

10605203 Biomedical Device Technology: Principles and Design, 2nd ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login) 

10605209 Biomedical Device Technology: Principles and Design, 2nd ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login) 

10605206 Biomedical Device Technology: Principles and Design, 2nd ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login) 

10605208 Biomedical Device Technology: Principles and Design, 2nd ed. (Western Library ebook, requires Western login) 

10801136 The Word on College Reading and Writing (OER*) and Writing for Success (OER*)

10801196 - Communication in the Real World (OER*)

10801197 - Technical Writing (OER*); Technical Writing (OER*); and Online Technical Writing (OER*)

10801198 - Stand Up. Speak Out (OER*)

10801199 - Technical Writing (OER*)

10806177 - Anatomy and Physiology (OER*)

10809159 Abnormal Psychology, 2nd ed. (OER*)

10809188 - Lifespan Development: A Psychological Perspective (OER*)

10809198 - Psychology, 2e (OER*)

10809199 - Principles of Social Psychology (OER*)

10809199 - Human Relations (OER*)

10831103 - The Word on College Reading and Writing (OER*) and Writing for Success (OER*)

10890102 - College Success (OER*)

20806280 - Essentials of Environmental Science (OER*)

20806207 - Anatomy and Physiology (OER*)

20806208 - Anatomy and Physiology (OER*)

20806209 - Chemistry: Atoms First, 2e (OER*) and Chemistry Library (OER*)

20806280 - Essentials of Environmental Science (OER*)

20809231 - Psychology, 2e (OER*)

20810201 - Stand Up. Speak Out (OER*)

20890200 - College Success (OER*)

20890202 - College Success (OER*)

31442302 - Fabrication and Welding Engineering (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

31442312 - Fabrication and Welding Engineering (Western Library ebook, requires Western login)

77856761 - Concepts of Biology (OER*)

77856761 Chemistry: Atoms First, 2e (OER*)


Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.