Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LEARNING COMMONS

Welcome I'm looking for... News All Guides FAQs Submit a Question!

Faculty and Staff Library Resources and Services

This guide gathers resources to assist faculty and staff in using Western's library tools, resources, and services.

Purpose of This Guide

mapThe Western Technical College Learning Commons provides many resources to support your students on their path to a degree! We offer a full-service library with books, periodicals, electronic resources, and database access, as well as free tutoring options.

This guide is designed to help introduce and share information about resources available to Western faculty and staff. It is created and maintained by your Student Learning Librarians, Ellen and Linda.

The guide is divided into different sections and covers the most popular resources, staff questions, and faculty needs. Navigate to the different sections using the tabs on the left. 

Links to guide "pages" on the LEFT.

Western Librarians are resources for faculty and staff too!

Are librarians available to help faculty and staff too? 

Ellen and Linda (profiles on the left) are your librarians at Western. They are always happy to collaborate with and assist Western faculty and staff. After all, they are your librarians too! 

What do librarians even do? How can the library support my teaching?

Librarians have expertise in research, information resources, and information literacy skills. We provide and maintain materials and resources to help you and your students find relevant, high-quality information. We work directly with students, we collaborate with instructors, and we visit classes to provide instruction and support. 

Some of our favorite things to teach:

  • Question development and inquiry
  • Source types and search skills
  • Critical evaluation and quality source selection
  • Ethical source usage and citation

This guide offers an introduction to a few of the many ways you can collaborate with us (we've also listed some ideas below). If you don't see what you need or still have questions, just ask a librarian!

Here are a few ideas for you might use the library and collaborate with a librarian:

  • Consult with a librarian to work information literacy skills into your research lessons and assignments
  • Bring your class to the Learning Commons or bring us into your classroom for an instruction session tailored to your course and students
  • Embed a librarian in your Blackboard course(s)
  • Request a custom research guide
  • Add your textbook to the course reserves available in the Learning Commons
  • Link directly to databases, articles, or other library resources within your Blackboard courses
  • Work with us to find Open Educational Resources (OER) for your courses and content
  • Borrow materials from the library collection or request materials from other libraries through interlibrary loan
  • Suggest a purchase for the library collection
  • Request assistance with your own research and professional development
  • Understand copyright and fair use
  • ... or something else we haven't thought of yet!

Which librarian should I contact? 

We invite you to contact your division's liaison librarian with your questions and instruction needs:

Business - Linda VanSistine-Yost

General Studies - Linda VanSistine-Yost

Health and Public Safety - Ellen Range

Integrated Technologies - Ellen Range

You can also contact our general email at library@westerntc.edu and one of us will reach out to you! 

Getting Started at the Western Library

Do you have any quick guides on how to use the library at Western? 

The guides linked below offer a general introduction to using Western Library resources for reading and research. They are a good introduction for new faculty and staff, but can be a refresher course for anyone!

These guides can also help students familiarize themselves with the many resources available to them via the Western Library. Please feel free to include these (or any other) guides in your Blackboard courses, if it is appropriate to your content. If you're hoping for something more specific, we invite you to request a custom research guide or reach out to us to schedule class instruction.

 

Research Assignment / Syllabus Statements

Does your course require students to do research? Remind them that their library is here to help! Feel free to use or adapt the following statement for your syllabus, Blackboard course, or assignment sheets. 

Library Resources / Ask a Librarian

Need credible sources but don't know where to start? Searching for a book, video, or article to support your argument? Your Library provides 24/7 access to books, databases, research guides and more at westerntc.edu/library-services. The Library 101 Guide provides a general introduction to using the library and is a great place to start. Still feeling overwhelmed by research and wish someone could help you navigate? Ask a librarian!

Contact Your Learning Commons Team

    

Contact:                   

         Take a Guided Virtual Tour of the Online Learning Commons!                                       

  •  Live Chat with a Librarian! Look for the Chat Widget!   

Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.