Business Management and Administration - Business Division Faculty - Information Sources for Business

Business Management and Administration - Search Terms

Business Management and Administration Search Terms

background information icon

Use search terms alone - management - for a wide variety of results. Combine them - management and innovation to target your results.

business; business administration; business cycle; business entity; business ethics; business management; business model; business plan
company; corporation
entrepreneurship
leadership
innovation
organization; organizational leadership
project management
small business
strategic management; strategic planning

Credo Reference: Definitions and Concept

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Use this database to understand basic concepts taught in your courses. It's also a great database for the first step in your research process. It contains short articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference sources on a wide range of subjects. Get started on your assignment or research project by learning about key people, places, dates, events, concepts, and ideas related to your topic.

Databases for Scholarly / Peer-Reviewed Articles

Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Business students and faculty will find full-text coverage in the fields of accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Business and trade publications are updated daily to reflect the activities of companies and industries worldwide. In addition, this database provides access to a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This is the business industry’s most used research database. Find articles, economic reports, company profiles, industry reports, and videos from business publications in areas such as marketing, management, accounting, and finance.
Economics and Theory (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A great choice for business students. This content is useful for research on starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Content from trade magazines, journals, newspapers, and multimedia provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories for students and entrepreneurs alike within a variety of markets. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Multiple-topic database that represents international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events such as business and technology, the environment and climate change, culture and society, health and medicine, and governments and political systems. Content includes magazine, journal, and news articles, and multimedia. Browse a list of topics from the home page.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This specialized database contains scholarly journals and general-interest magazines that cover topics related to the impact of human activity on the planet. Use this database for assignments related to the environment and climate change. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and other areas that are impacted such as education, law, health and technology, and more.
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Covers various topics related to the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism, as well as the historical and contemporary issues in the hospitality and tourism industries. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Content is from major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Find credible sources related to business and legal topics. Access local, regional, and national newspapers, magazines, and journals, as well television and radio broadcasts. Search state and federal legal cases, statutes, and Supreme Court decisions. Locate business information on millions of U.S. and international companies, and their top executives.
Vocation and Careers (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A great tool for students to learn about all aspects of jobs and careers, from required education and training, job searching, and maintaining a career. Content ranges from general career guides to highly specialized industry and trade journals. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Find articles from current and past issues of key national and regional sources including the Wisconsin State Journal, Star Tribune (Minneapolis), Green Bay Press Gazette, The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.

Business Insights: Global Database

Business: Insights (Gale)

search for companies (including FORTUNE 100), industries, case studies, and comparison charts
find detailed company, country, and industry profiles
locate analyses of economies, companies and industries
look up financials and investment reports
research SWOT reports
locate market share reports
research company histories (global)
industry research essays
find case studies
research scholarly journals
look for business news for deep research coverage of global economies
locate graphing and data-conversion options
watch business executive video interviews and lessons for deeper insight into issues and decision-making.

Business: Insights (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A business research database that provides tools for finding information about industries and companies including their histories, SWOT analyses, investment, financial and market share reports, and industry essays. Access comparison charts and case studies to learn practical business skills and decision-making strategies. Find current news, statistical data, and in-depth reports. Set up searches by country, state, city, SIC and NAICS codes, revenue, and number of employees.

Reference Solutions Basics

ReferenceSolutions: U.S. Businesses Database
Provides in-depth information about U.S. Businesses Database including how it's compiled, how to find and use the information it provides. Includes charts, screenshots and other visuals. (23 pages)
ReferenceSolutions: U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles Database
Provides in-depth information about U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles Database including how it's compiled, how to find and use the information it provides. Includes charts, screenshots and other visuals. (15 pages)
ReferenceSolutions: Jobs and Internships Databases
Learn how to search for a job or position using this database. Includes charts, screenshots and other visuals. (9 pages)

Database Reference Solutions: search 1 of the 3 different databases within Reference Solutions

U.S. Businesses
U.S. Consumers
U.S. Jobs/Internships

1. U.S. Businesses

Search for individual businesses and/or executives or for groups of businesses, such as "coffee shops." For a more detailed explanation.

2. U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles

This database allows users to search millions of individuals. In this module you can search by lifestyles and real purchasing behaviors of these individuals. Lifestyles selections are real purchasing behaviors of the individuals over a 2-year period. There are more than 100 unique lifestyles selections broken into several main categories such as Apparel/Fashion/Beauty; Cooking/Wine; Health/Diet/Fitness; Pets/Animals; Politics/Religion/News; Sports; and more.

3. U.S. Jobs/Internships

Job listings are compiled from indeed.com then cross-referenced with ReferenceSolutions U.S. businesses listings. Do a Quick Search for a job or an Advanced Search to narrow by position, company, location, etc.