Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Division Faculty LibGuide

Provides links to Western Library resources for students and faculty in the Business Division

Credo Reference Database

The first step when beginning a project or assignment is to gather definitions, identify key concepts or ideas, and locate general information about your topic. The Western Library database, Credo Reference, is ideal for this task.

Credo Reference provides access to definitions and short articles from reference sources such as general encyclopedias, subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and more. It is a great place to find overviews and background information on almost any research topic.

Credo Reference is also a great way to learn the vocabulary unique to a given topic, learn about key people or organizations as well as important events, histories, and other information that will provide context for a project and help narrow the focus of the research. Link to related subjects/topics by clicking on the Key Concept buttons, or the links in the Mind Maps or Related Search options, to grow a list of search terms for future searches.

Use the Filter Menu at the top of the home page to narrow your search by type (including Pro-Con), Subject, Media, Date, and more, 

Each individual page in this LibGuide contains a list of possible subject-specific search terms to get you started searching in Credo Reference.

login icon

 

 

Note: When you click on the link for Credo Reference you'll be asked to login with your Western ID.

Business search Credo Reference screenshot


Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.