LibGuides: Business Division Faculty LibGuide: Accounting and Finance

she/her/hers

Email Me

Subjects: Business and Professional Services, Education and Human Services, Liberal Arts, Social Justice, Student Success

Accounting and Finance - Search Terms

Credo Reference icon

Accounting and Finance Search Terms

Use search terms alone - accounting - for a wide variety of results. Combine them - accounting and cash flow - to target your results.

accounting; accountant; accountancy; accounting equation
accounts receivable; accounts payable
balance sheet
bookkeeping; double-entry bookkeeping
cash flow
capital; capital structure
credit; debt
economics
financial statement, income statement
funds; investment
management accounting

First Step in Research - Credo Reference Database

Credo Reference Tutorial

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Use this database to understand basic concepts taught in your courses. It's also a great database for the first step in your research process. It contains short articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference sources on a wide range of subjects. Get started on your assignment or research project by learning about key people, places, dates, events, concepts, and ideas related to your topic.

Teaching Business Research
Using the Credo Reference database to do background research.

Next Step Library Databases - Accounting and Finance

The next step in the research process is to make a focus on a narrower aspect of a topic and search for articles, data, and other information in databases that address topics at a more detailed level. This type of information as well as scholarly/peer-reviewed articles and can be found in one of the databases below.

Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Business students and faculty will find full-text coverage in the fields of accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Business and trade publications are updated daily to reflect the activities of companies and industries worldwide. In addition, this database provides access to a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Business: Insights (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A business research database that provides tools for finding information about industries and companies including their histories, SWOT analyses, investment, financial and market share reports, and industry essays. Access comparison charts and case studies to learn practical business skills and decision-making strategies. Find current news, statistical data, and in-depth reports. Set up searches by country, state, city, SIC and NAICS codes, revenue, and number of employees.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A giant database that covers a wide range of topics. Use it to find peer-reviewed scholarly articles, as well as articles from trade journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This is the business industry’s most used research database. Find articles, economic reports, company profiles, industry reports, and videos from business publications in areas such as marketing, management, accounting, and finance.
Economics and Theory (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A great choice for business students. This content is useful for research on starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Multiple-topic database that represents international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events such as business and technology, the environment and climate change, culture and society, health and medicine, and governments and political systems. Content includes magazine, journal, and news articles, and multimedia. Browse a list of topics from the home page.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Find credible sources related to business and legal topics. Access local, regional, and national newspapers, magazines, and journals, as well television and radio broadcasts. Search state and federal legal cases, statutes, and Supreme Court decisions. Locate business information on millions of U.S. and international companies, and their top executives.
RAB Instant Background This link opens in a new window
Use the RAB (Radio Advertising Bureau) tools to track down marketing statistics for a variety of companies in business and industry. Find out how to access our subscription here or you can contact a librarian for access information (chat, phone, or email).
ReferenceSolutions This link opens in a new window
A premier source for business and consumer research data. Contains detailed information on over 15 million companies and over 260 million consumers. Every record can be exported to spreadsheets. A great source for entrepreneurship activities, marketing projects, demographics research, and students seeking employment.
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find regional business publications from the United States and Canada. Topics range from presidential candidates, to franchise restaurants, to the retail industry, to business planning, political participation, and more. Content includes newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires with full-text content coverage provided by The Washington Post, PR Newswire US spanning more than 20 years of coverage.
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Find articles from current and past issues of key national and regional sources including the Wisconsin State Journal, Star Tribune (Minneapolis), Green Bay Press Gazette, The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Vocation and Careers (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A great tool for students to learn about all aspects of jobs and careers, from required education and training, job searching, and maintaining a career. Content ranges from general career guides to highly specialized industry and trade journals. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.