LibGuides: Business Strategy Development Course Guide: More Business Databases

List - Library Databases for Business Research

Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Business students and faculty will find full-text coverage in the fields of accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Business and trade publications are updated daily to reflect the activities of companies and industries worldwide. In addition, this database provides access to a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This is the business industry’s most used research database. Find articles, economic reports, company profiles, industry reports, and videos from business publications in areas such as marketing, management, accounting, and finance.
Economics and Theory (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A great choice for business students. This content is useful for research on starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Content from trade magazines, journals, newspapers, and multimedia provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories for students and entrepreneurs alike within a variety of markets. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Multiple-topic database that represents international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events such as business and technology, the environment and climate change, culture and society, health and medicine, and governments and political systems. Content includes magazine, journal, and news articles, and multimedia. Browse a list of topics from the home page.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Find credible sources related to business and legal topics. Access local, regional, and national newspapers, magazines, and journals, as well television and radio broadcasts. Search state and federal legal cases, statutes, and Supreme Court decisions. Locate business information on millions of U.S. and international companies, and their top executives.
RAB Instant Background This link opens in a new window
Use the RAB (Radio Advertising Bureau) tools to track down marketing statistics for a variety of companies in business and industry. Find out how to access our subscription here or you can contact a librarian for access information (chat, phone, or email).
ReferenceSolutions This link opens in a new window
A premier source for business and consumer research data. Contains detailed information on over 15 million companies and over 260 million consumers. Every record can be exported to spreadsheets. A great source for entrepreneurship activities, marketing projects, demographics research, and students seeking employment.
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find regional business publications from the United States and Canada. Topics range from presidential candidates, to franchise restaurants, to the retail industry, to business planning, political participation, and more. Content includes newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires with full-text content coverage provided by The Washington Post, PR Newswire US spanning more than 20 years of coverage.

Tutorial: GaleOneFile Databases - Business and Entrepreneurship

Database: Business (Gale OneFile)

Articles in the fields of:

accounting
economics
finance
marketing
management and strategy
business theory and practice

Business and trade publications are updated daily to reflect the activities of companies and industries worldwide. In addition, this database provides access to a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.

Try the colorful Topic Finder with two different display options

Example: Articles found for the "Industry Pet" category (red) in the Topic Finder

Both Tile AND Wheel Views show there are 92 articles about the Pet Industry including articles about places such as Veritas Farms and Pets Global. These articles are announcements from trade industry sources.

Subject Searching

Example: If you type the name of a company or any keyword into a Basic Search box, the database provides a list of related search terms as alternatives. Add any relevant terms to you search term list to use later.

Tutorial: What is Reference Solutions Database

Databases: ReferenceSolutions

up-to-date business and consumer data
- employment by job skills, location, and industry
- national companies and business executives
- historical market trends
- addresses and phone numbers
- news articles for research

Answers these questions about business research:

What is the organizational structure?
Do you know who you are selling to?
- Which demographic?
- What market?
What is the industry and growth potential?
Who is your competition?

ReferenceSolutions This link opens in a new window
A premier source for business and consumer research data. Contains detailed information on over 15 million companies and over 260 million consumers. Every record can be exported to spreadsheets. A great source for entrepreneurship activities, marketing projects, demographics research, and students seeking employment.

Tutorial - Reference Solutions Basics

ReferenceSolutions: U.S. Businesses Database
Provides in-depth information about U.S. Businesses Database including how it's compiled, how to find and use the information it provides. Includes charts, screenshots and other visuals. (23 pages)
ReferenceSolutions: U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles Database
Provides in-depth information about U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles Database including how it's compiled, how to find and use the information it provides. Includes charts, screenshots and other visuals. (15 pages)
ReferenceSolutions: Jobs and Internships Databases
Learn how to search for a job or position using this database. Includes charts, screenshots and other visuals. (9 pages)

Database Reference Solutions: search 1 of the 3 different databases within Reference Solutions

U.S. Businesses
U.S. Consumers
U.S. Jobs/Internships

1. U.S. Businesses

Search for individual businesses and/or executives or for groups of businesses, such as "coffee shops." For a more detailed explanation.

2. U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles

This database allows users to search millions of individuals. In this module you can search by lifestyles and real purchasing behaviors of these individuals. Lifestyles selections are real purchasing behaviors of the individuals over a 2-year period. There are more than 100 unique lifestyles selections broken into several main categories such as Apparel/Fashion/Beauty; Cooking/Wine; Health/Diet/Fitness; Pets/Animals; Politics/Religion/News; Sports; and more.

3. U.S. Jobs/Internships

Job listings are compiled from indeed.com then cross-referenced with ReferenceSolutions U.S. businesses listings. Do a Quick Search for a job or an Advanced Search to narrow by position, company, location, etc.

Business Strategy Development Course Guide

Need Help?