How to Use ReferenceSolutions - Tutorial - Business Database Tutorials LibGuide

What is ReferenceSolutions?

Databases: ReferenceSolutions

up-to-date business and consumer data
- employment by job skills, location, and industry
- national companies and business executives
- historical market trends
- addresses and phone numbers
- news articles for research

Answers these questions about business research:

What is the organizational structure?
Do you know who you are selling to?
- Which demographic?
- What market?
What is the industry and growth potential?
Who is your competition?

ReferenceSolutions This link opens in a new window
A premier source for business and consumer research data. Contains detailed information on over 15 million companies and over 260 million consumers. Every record can be exported to spreadsheets. A great source for entrepreneurship activities, marketing projects, demographics research, and students seeking employment.

Reference Solutions Basics

ReferenceSolutions: U.S. Businesses Database
Provides in-depth information about U.S. Businesses Database including how it's compiled, how to find and use the information it provides. Includes charts, screenshots and other visuals. (23 pages)
ReferenceSolutions: U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles Database
Provides in-depth information about U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles Database including how it's compiled, how to find and use the information it provides. Includes charts, screenshots and other visuals. (15 pages)
ReferenceSolutions: Jobs and Internships Databases
Learn how to search for a job or position using this database. Includes charts, screenshots and other visuals. (9 pages)

Database Reference Solutions: search 1 of the 3 different databases within Reference Solutions

U.S. Businesses
U.S. Consumers
U.S. Jobs/Internships

1. U.S. Businesses

Search for individual businesses and/or executives or for groups of businesses, such as "coffee shops." For a more detailed explanation.

2. U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles

This database allows users to search millions of individuals. In this module you can search by lifestyles and real purchasing behaviors of these individuals. Lifestyles selections are real purchasing behaviors of the individuals over a 2-year period. There are more than 100 unique lifestyles selections broken into several main categories such as Apparel/Fashion/Beauty; Cooking/Wine; Health/Diet/Fitness; Pets/Animals; Politics/Religion/News; Sports; and more.

3. U.S. Jobs/Internships

Job listings are compiled from indeed.com then cross-referenced with ReferenceSolutions U.S. businesses listings. Do a Quick Search for a job or an Advanced Search to narrow by position, company, location, etc.