Most of our library resources are paid for by Western Technical College and our subscriptions require that users be associated with Western. That means you'll have to log in to use most of our resources. That also means that you'll need to use special permanent links to have library content link correctly in an assignment, email, notes document, etc.
In general, look for an option in the database that says "permalink," "permanent link," "save link," or or something similar instead of copying the URL from the address bar of your browser.
Western Library Databases - Keeping Track of Your Articles
What can I do if I have too many results when I search?
Use database filters to narrow the results.
Depending on the database look on the left, right, or top of the page of results for filters such as:
Types of Publication or Document Type
... and more
How can I save a link to the articles I find?
When you find an article for your assignment you'll want to keep track of it.
There are 2 ways to do this.
On the article page look for icons that let you email the article to yourself. Depending on the database you will see options to: E-mail, Share, or Send-To
On the article page look for icons that let provide a link so you can copy/paste the article link into a document. Depending on the database look for Permalink, Page Link, or Get Link
Do NOT use the browse URL at the top of the page, it does not link back to your article.
How can I find and keep track of article citations?
Depending on the database, at the top or right of the article page look for icons that let you email, download, print, or find the citation for your article (and more!). Keep an eye out for buttons that say:
Cite or Citation
Email, Share, Send To
Looking for more tutorials and information about databases?
Link below to videos and information about Western Library's most popular databases. Use the links on the left side of the page to learn more about using specialty databases.