Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Intro Guide

Learn how to use Western Library databases to find articles and video for homework and research assignments.

Your Choice of Database Depends on Your Assignment

Choosse icon

Your assignment may be open-ended, and allows you to write, talk to develop a project about about anything that interests you. Sounds great - but, yikes! - you can't think of a anything!  Your first step is to explore your options. The purpose of this guide is to link you to different Western Library databases that will help your brain kick into gear.

 

Use Your Assignment as Your Starting Point

  • What is the scope and nature of your project? -
  • Do you need to write an 1-2 page essay or a 5-7 page research paper?
  • Give a  2-3 minutes speech, a a 6-7 minute speech?
  • Do you need to present a short presentation or a long one? 
  • Do you need to demo how to prepare a healthy snack or a healthy meal?
  • Does your assignment require you to use specific sources - . books? news articles? scholarly articles? Videoes? Podcast?

Assignment icon

 

 Let the scope and nature of your project determine your choice of topic. A 2-3 minute speech or presentation that requires visuals will require a different approach than a 1-2 page essay which requires thought and evaluation.

Navigating the Databases List

Which Database Should I Use for My Topic?

Search icon

So you've chose your topic, which Western Library database  do you use to find information about your topic? Use the tabs above and the links below to explore the different types of information about your topic.


Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.