A giant database that covers a wide range of topics. Use it to find peer-reviewed scholarly articles, as well as articles from trade journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Need a scholarly or peer-reviewed article? Not sure where to go for academic journals? Looking for a general database (versus a subject-specific one)? Academic Search Premier is our favorite.
Use this database to understand basic concepts taught in your courses. It's also a great database for the first step in your research process. It contains short articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference sources on a wide range of subjects. Get started on your assignment or research project by learning about key people, places, dates, events, concepts, and ideas related to your topic.
This is our first choice for getting started on a research topic. It's helpful for finding background information, defining search terms, or honing in on a focused topic. The mind map is also a student researcher favorite!
Find information in multiple EBSCO databases all at the same time. Click the databases related to your topic, enter your search terms, and get the results from each individual database all in a single list.
Find information in multiple Gale databases all at the same time. Enter your search terms into the Power Search bar, and get the results from many different databases in a single list.
PrepSTEP offers targeted learning centers with practice tests, tutorials, microlessons, e-books, articles and flashcards. PrepSTEP includes practice exams for ACT, SAT, GED, ACCUPLACER, CLEP exams as well as in career fields such as health and nursing, law enforcement and military, public safety and civil service, electrical and plumbing, truck driving, cosmetology, culinary arts, and more. Also included are resources to help with college skill development, an AWS Training Center with information on a wide array of technology topics, and Spanish-language resources to help improve your academic skills. Register for a free account with your name and email address to access the tools.
Users with a Learning Express Library account should be able to use their existing account to log in to PrepSTEP.
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Multiple subject database that searches across many other EBSCO platforms including Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, Consumer Health Complete, and many more. Browsable by subject and equipped with many filters specifically designed for students. Use it to find scholarly or popular articles, ebooks, and more.
Alternate Name(s)
Overdrive, Wisconsin's Shared Collection for Academic Libraries, WISCAL
Libby makes reading and listening to books easy and convenient! Access a growing collection of popular fiction and nonfiction ebooks and digital audiobooks for leisure reading, as well as career, technical, and academic subjects. Click the link to login with your Western ID or download the Libby App. Choose Western Technical College from the drop-down list when you see "Sign in with My Card." Got questions or need help? Ask a Librarian!
PrepSTEP offers targeted learning centers with practice tests, tutorials, microlessons, e-books, articles and flashcards. PrepSTEP includes practice exams for ACT, SAT, GED, ACCUPLACER, CLEP exams as well as in career fields such as health and nursing, law enforcement and military, public safety and civil service, electrical and plumbing, truck driving, cosmetology, culinary arts, and more. Also included are resources to help with college skill development, an AWS Training Center with information on a wide array of technology topics, and Spanish-language resources to help improve your academic skills. Register for a free account with your name and email address to access the tools.
Users with a Learning Express Library account should be able to use their existing account to log in to PrepSTEP.
If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.
