Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business: Principles of Management Assignment Guide

Learn to use Western Library's Business databases to find information on companies and industries.

Start Your Research with Credo Reference

search iconUse Credo Reference to learn more about or better understand the meanings of business terms and concepts. Find background information - the who, what, when, where, and why - the key people, ideas, dates, places, origins and histories related to a topic.

LIST - Library Databases for Business Research

ReferenceSolutions - Tutorial #1

Reference Solutions logo

ReferenceSolutions database to research:

  • up-to-date business and consumer data
    • employment by job skills, location, and industry
    • national companies and business executives
    • historical market trends
    • addresses and phone numbers
    • news articles for research

Use ReferenceSolutions to answer these questions about your business research.

  • What is the organizational structure?
  • Do you know who you are selling to?
    • Which demographic? 
    • What market?
  • What is the industry and growth potential?
  • Who is your competition?

ReferenceSolutions - Tutorial #2

Western Library provides access to three Reference Solutions databases:

ReferenceSolutions - 3 databases

U.S. Business

Search for individual businesses and/or executives or for groups of businesses, such as "coffee shops." For a more detailed explanation 

U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles

This database allows users to search millions of individuals. In this module you can search by lifestyles and real purchasing behaviors of these individuals. Lifestyles selections are real purchasing behaviors of the individuals over a 2-year period. There are more than 100 unique lifestyles selections broken into several main categories such as Apparel/Fashion/Beauty; Cooking/Wine; Health/Diet/Fitness; Pets/Animals; Politics/Religion/News; Sports; and more.

U.S. Consumer and LifeStyle search box

U.S. Jobs/Internships

Job listings are compiled from indeed.com then cross-referenced with ReferenceSolutions U.S. businesses listings. Do a Quick Search for a job or an Advanced Search to narrow by position, company, location, etc.

Job Search - Search Box

 

Video Tutorial: ReferenceSolutions - Tutorial #3

video tutorial icon

 

Click the link below for direct access to the ReferenceSolutions database. For a quick How-to-Navigate  ReferenceSolutions watch the video beneath the link.

Video Tutorial - Business: Gale OneFile

Ad image Gale Business

Gale OneFile: Business - For Higher Ed Users

Gale OneFile Business is a comprehensive business resource for academic researchers seeking company news, creating & evaluating business strategy, making personal investment decisions, or choosing their business major or concentration. 

Business (Gale OneFile) 

  • accounting
  • economics 
  • finance
  • marketing
  • management and strategy
  • business theory and practice

Video Tutorial: Business Source Premier

Video Tutorial: RAB Instant Background Databases

VideoTutorial: Nexis Uni

video tutorial icon

 

The video below describe how to use Nexis Uni database to find company information.


Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.