Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business: Principles of Management Assignment Guide

Learn to use Western Library's Business databases to find information on companies and industries.

Business Research Overview

puzzle pieces icon

Ugh! I have no idea how I should even start a research project. What do I do?

  • First, understand that college assignments and research can be broken down and done in individual pieces as part of a bigger process: 
    • Activities in the research process:
      • exploration - find out what information has been published about your topic
        • mostly you will NOT find one article that provides all the information you need
        • look for articles that touch on various aspects of your topic - revenue, demographic
          • sometimes all you will find is a sentence in one article or a paragraph in another
          • jot down this information, along with the title and database 
      • discovering what you don't know and what you need to learn  
      • identifying -  pieces of information from several articles that relate to your topic
      • evaluating the credibility of the information
      • analyzing the usefulness of the information to what you are trying to do
      • synthesizing (bringing together) the pieces information to complete your assignment or project

Take the process Step-by-Step!

  • Step #1: Make a list of search terms to use in database searches
    • stair steps iconkeywords and phrases that describe the information you are looking for 
    • see  -  Searching and Finding Information in Library Databases
  • Step #2: Find background information about your topic to set the stage for in-depth research
    • background information - vocabulary/terminology and what they mean, and the basic issues about your topic
    • use databases like Credo Reference and MasterFile Complete 
  • Step #3: Find in-depth information
    • details about a company, business, or industry: financial reports, organizational structures, etc.
    • use business databases or company and government websites 

take notes icon

Take notes to keep track of what you learn. They'll help a lot when you pull together your assignment.

 


Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.