Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Database Tutorials LibGuide

Learn how to use Western Library databses for business research.

What is a LibGuide?

What is a LibGuide?

Think of a LibGuide as a "digital handout" that pulls together specific information in one convenient place.

How do I use a LibGuide?

left arrow LINK to LibGuide PAGES which are stacked in the column on the left. Some PAGES may have subpages stacked below the main page. Page BOXES will also appear below the main page. Click on a box or..

down arrowSCROLL down a PAGE to view LibGuide BOXES

Ask-a-Librarian

Ask-a-Librarian buttonReach out to a librarian if you have any questions about finding information in the library databases. Use the Ask-a-Librarian button at the left, or check beneath my profile pic below to see if I'm online for a Chat or feel free to reach out to me via email as well! I'm happy to help!

Short Video: How to Use Western Library's Website

How to Navigate Western Library Databases

This short video tutorial below explains how to use Western Library's databases for your Business Research needs, as well as for assignments you'll encounter in your other courses.

Western Library Databases for Business Research - An Overview

web search  icon A database is a collection of online information resources - articles, films, images, data, statistics, etc.

Western Library databases provide articles from newspapers, magazines, trade journals, scholarly journals, books, and streaming video on a wide variety of subjects. Databases are subscriptions purchased by both college and public libraries, and made freely available to students and the general public with a student ID or public library card.

  • Databases such as Academic Search Premier, MasterFile Complete, Academic OneFile, General OneFile, and Films on Demand are examples of multiple-subject databases that contain information on a wide range of subjects and topics.
  • Subject specific databases, like Western's business databases, contain industry and company histories, reports, rankings, and profiles, as well as articles, case studies, charts, financial data, statistics, and legal issues.

Databases save you time and energy! Since anyone can publish a website on Google it can be difficult to find credible information suitable for a research project. Library databases contain vetted, fact-checked, and credible information  created by trustworthy professionals and experts. 

You will notice similarities among databases. Most EBSCO databases look and function identically, as do most Gale databases, and most ProQuest databases.

toolbox icon

 

 

Database Filters and Tools 

 

 

All databases have the following features: (look for them in left or right columns or at the top of the page)

  • Tools - search boxes (basic, advanced), cite tools, a way to email, send, or share, a list of source types related to a search (number of academic journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, etc), a print tool, permalink.
  • Filters. Often a search results in hundred or thousands of articles. Use the Filters to narrow your results
    • Full Text - check third filter to show only titles that also have complete articles, rather than just a summary.
    • Date or date range filters - these may refer to publication or copyright dates. 
    • Source Type: use this filter to choose the what type of article you want to see -  newspaper, magazine, academic journal, etc. Filter out the source types you don't want to see. For example,for a research project you may need a scholarly article from an academic journal. By checking the Academic Journal box or link -- you will be shown only scholarly articles.
    • Filters will be located on ether the left, right, or top of the page, depending on the database.

Login icon

 

NOTE: You will be prompted to enter your Western ID to login to a database. 

 

Best Bet Databases for Business Research are Listed Below

diagonal left up arrow iconNOTE: From the left column, link to tutorials that provide more details about  how to search and find information in each of these database.


Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.