Control - What is it? - Business Principles of Management Assignment Guide

Control and Other Definitions

Control lies at the heart of organization theory. Organizations, such as Fortune 100 or Fortune 500 companies are generally very large and have many different departments each with their own specific function. They need policies or systems to help them sustain themselves at both the department and company levels in order to grow for the future. Organizational control provides a framework for people to work together to achieve the goals of the company. Understanding the aspects of an effective control system help company staffs and employees create better policies for both department teams as well as companies as a whole.

Control Chart for a Company

Use the database, Credo Reference to help you clarify what specific business terms and concepts really mean. It is an excellent database for definitions and background information on business topics. Articles come from specialty dictionaries and encyclopedias. Take a look at definitions and short articles about "control" in Credo Reference.

Control (chart above))
Control is a complex and multi-dimensional phenomenon in organizations that can be studied at individual, group, organizational or field levels of analysis, and is highly context dependent. - From SAGE Key Concepts series: Key Concepts in Sport Management (Credo Reference)
Control (definition)
Simple definitions from Resources and Personnel Management (Credo Reference):
- To direct a business
- The power or ability to direct a company
Control (article)
Generally, the attention paid to control in organizations has focused firstly on control of the individual and has then moved on to focus on the control of organizations themselves (Birnberg, 1998).

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Use this database to understand basic concepts taught in your courses. It's also a great database for the first step in your research process. It contains short articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference sources on a wide range of subjects. Get started on your assignment or research project by learning about key people, places, dates, events, concepts, and ideas related to your topic.