LibGuides: Anatomy & Physiology: Finding News Articles about Genetics (Advanced A&P): Start Here

How to Use a LibGuide

What is a LibGuide?

LibGuides collect research information in one convenient place.
LibGuides are updated in real time, which means you are always reading the most updated version.

How do I use a LibGuide?

The left column contains a STACKED LIST OF TOPICS called LibGuide PAGES

A white down arrow on right side of a main page means there are SUBPAGES listed below it

Scroll down each page to view content in LibGuide BOXES

Click on red links in the boxes to access external resources

How to Use Western Library's Website

About the Library (Video & Information)
Need articles for a paper, project, or speech or just something other than textbooks to read? Western Library on-campus AND online provides both, as well a friendly librarians happy to help you find what you need!

Need help with research or finding information?

Connect with a Western Librarian

Chat with us LIVE using the widget at the bottom of your screen
Use the Ask a Librarian submission form
Email us at library@westerntc.edu
Give us a call at 608-785-9142
Stop by the Learning Commons to talk with a librarian in person

We can help you

Navigate the collections inside the library and on the library's website
Learn how to search efficiently to find books and articles in the library and electronic databases
Choose information and resources to help with assignments, papers, and projects
Figure out the right resources or people to answer your question

Your Student Learning Librarians are available to meet with individuals, small groups, and classes to support you in finding information and the right resources for your needs.

Library 101: Using Western Library
This short guide provides students with an overview of how to develop search terms, find books in the library, and use databases on the library website. It also provides links to citing sources and the Learning Commons Writing Center. Includes both video and text-based tutorials.
Library Research for Writing Assignments: A Quick Guide
This short guide gives students an overview of conducting research for writing an essay. It covers the basics of developing search terms, note-taking, finding general background information for a topic using the library database Credo Reference, as well as more focused research using databases like Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) to find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles. Includes both video and text-based tutorials.
Library Research Skills for College: Step-by-Step
This in-depth guide goes into step-by-step detail about the research process. It includes exploring and choosing a topic, developing search terms, basic and advanced search strategies, note-taking, using library databases to find background information at the beginning phases of the research process and peer-reviewed information using scholarly databases. It also provides information about citing sources and links to the Learning Commons Writing Center. Includes both video and text-based tutorials.

Quick Links to Popular Library Resources

Western's Library provides access to a wide variety of resources and materials, including scholarly and academic articles, streaming video, ebooks, magazines, encyclopedias, books in print, and more... all for FREE, using your Western ID.

Student Learning Librarians are also available to help you find the research and information sources you need to complete an assignment, as well as answer any questions you might have about the research process itself.