Where to Find News Articles - Anatomy and Physiology | Finding News Articles about Genetics (Advanced A&P)

Where to Look

Use Library Search to Find Articles

Get started by searching for a topic of interest, then use the filters and limits on the left to narrow things down.

Or, Search Library Databases That Include News

You can also search these databases directly, if you prefer.

MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO)
Find content from magazines and newspapers. You can use the filters to limit to "full text" and to "newspaper" and "magazine" source types.
SIRS Issues Researcher (ProQuest)
Use this database to find articles on current issues. Limit to newspaper and magazine articles using the filters.
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest)
Find articles from current and past issues of key national and regional sources including the Wisconsin State Journal, Star Tribune (Minneapolis), Green Bay Press Gazette, The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.

Or, Try a Science News Website

News websites are another great place to search for articles.

Science News
Articles and information on the latest news of science, medicine and technology. (This content is also included in the MasterFile Complete database linked above).
Science Daily
ScienceDaily features breaking news about the latest discoveries in science...selected from press materials provided by hundreds of sources from around the world. Links to sources and relevant journal citations (where available) are included at the end of each post.

Questions You May Have

What are databases?

Basically an online library of digital newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, encyclopedias, books, data, statistics, business reports, and streaming video.
Link to Western Library databases from the library website or via links on our LibGuides.
Available 24/7

How do databases work?

Choose a database. Login with your Western ID.
Type your search term into the search box to bring up a list of articles, eBooks, etc.
Cool database features
- Email/share tools to send an article to yourself
- Citation tools to copy/paste your citation at the end of a paper, but...
  - Sometimes a database citation will mess up the capitalization
  - Also double-check that the italics in the source title and database name pasted. Fix it if not.

How do I know what database or article to choose for this assignment?

Great question! Different sources of information have different purposes.

For this assignment, you are looking for news and magazine articles (as opposed to research or journal articles). There are a quite a few databases with that kind of content.

These databases (also linked above) are good places to look for news:

MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO)
Find content from magazines and newspapers. You can use the filters to limit to "full text" and to "newspaper" and "magazine" source types.
SIRS Issues Researcher (ProQuest)
Use this database to find articles on current issues. Limit to newspaper and magazine articles using the filters.
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest)
Find articles from current and past issues of key national and regional sources including the Wisconsin State Journal, Star Tribune (Minneapolis), Green Bay Press Gazette, The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.

Why can't I read all the articles?

Databases also include citations and abstracts in addition to full articles. If you want to make sure you can read the full article of your search results, be sure to make sure the Full Text box is checked.

How can I search just for news and magazine articles?

You'll want to use the Source Type filters in the database.

Type your topic in the box, click Search, then check the Source Type boxes for "Magazines" and "Newspapers." That should take away all the journal articles and advanced research (which you don't need for this assignment).

There are still SO MANY choices. What can I do?

Try using the Date filter to limit the results to just the last few years. That will take away quite a few of the results and will also make sure you are looking at current news.

What if there aren't any results when I search?

Your search is probably too specific. Try a broader search term. "Genetics" or "genes" are some terms you can try if you aren't getting any results.

What if I tried all these suggestions and I still can't find what I need?

You can reach out to a librarian for help via the chat button below, email, or by visiting the Learning Commons. You can also (of course) contact your instructor with questions or for assistance.