LibGuides: Business Computer Apps (Assignment Guide): Find Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Articles

Find Information About Your Idea

Developing Your Topic

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
A giant database that covers a wide range of topics. Use it to find peer-reviewed scholarly articles, as well as articles from trade journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Gale Power Search (Gale)
Find information in multiple Gale databases all at the same time. Enter your search terms into the Power Search bar, and get the results from many different databases in a single list.
Business: Insights (Gale)
A business research database that provides tools for finding information about industries and companies including their histories, SWOT analyses, investment, financial and market share reports, and industry essays. Access comparison charts and case studies to learn practical business skills and decision-making strategies. Find current news, statistical data, and in-depth reports. Set up searches by country, state, city, SIC and NAICS codes, revenue, and number of employees.

EBSCOhost Tutorials

Business: Insights Tutorial

Find Information in Issues Databases

Business Topics and Current Events

If you are interest in current event topics, try one of the database below. Look for the "Business and Economics" headings and click to browse the topics and issues related to your topic. A perfectly normal thing can happen as you browse - you see a topic you find more interesting than the one you already chose! It happens! Go ahead and switch topics if you want. You can always go back to Credo Reference and get some background information on your new topic, and come back to the scholarly databases for more.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
This is a great source for assignments related to current events and important social issues. This database contains full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, biographies, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites. Additional features include pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, court cases, and issues of interest. Choose a research topic from a wide range of areas from genetic testing to gun safety to women in professional sports, to recycling, cell phones in schools, or medical technology, and much, much more.
SIRS Issues Researcher (ProQuest)
Use this database if you need to find a research topic to complete an assignment. This database dives into current global social issues and provides content such as analysis and opinion via pro/con articles, government documents, primary sources, newswires, charts, maps, images, statistics, newspapers, magazine, and scholarly journal articles, as well as links to websites. Topic groups include business and economics; communication and technology; environment and science; world culture and politics; ethics; civil rights and liberties; school, family, and youth; and health and wellness.

Why a Database Might Be a Better Choice than Google Scholar

Library Databases

Google Scholar

*Filter results by Full-Text

* Cannot filter for Full-Text. Must skim the list of links for Full-Text availability

•Filter results by source type (peer-reviewed articles, academic journal, magazine, newspaper, etc).

* Cannot filter by source type.

* Filter results to focus on a specific Subject

• Does not have the ability to focus search by Subject area.

•Use library databases at no cost. Login with your Western ID.

• Some articles are only available for a fee ($35-$75)

* Citation tool let you copy/paste the article's citation.**

* No citation tool. Build the citation from scratch.

** Always double-check your citations to be sure they are correct. Often you will see the name of an author or title of an article in ALL CAPS. This is wrong and must be corrected before you submit your assignment. Citation guides are listed below.