You need background information to introduce your audience to your topic and provide them with context to help them understand the information you are presenting. Encyclopedia- level databases as excellent starting points for your research. They will provide definitions and basic facts about your topic and well as some of the main ideas that surround your topic. You will find more information about main ideas using databases that provide articles from Newspapers, Magazines, Trade Journals, as well as Peer-Reviewed articles from Academic Journals.
In the list of articles below - notice the different sources the articles come from. General encyclopedias provide an over view of a topic and subject-specific encyclopedias provide perspectives within a particular subject area.
At the beginning of the research process look at your topic from multiple perspectives to help you decide which perspective you'd like to focus on as you continue to research.
Choose the perspective you'd most like to use for your assignment!
At this stage of the research process you will have decided on a particular focus. You've introduced your topic to your audience and provided them with some context to understand your presentation. Next your research will focus on providing your audience with details and examples. You will move on from encyclopedia-level databases to databases that contain articles from Newspapers, Magazines, Trade Journals, and also include Peer-Reviewed Articles from Academic Journals.
The topic of Artificial Intelligence from the perspective of Philosophy and Ethics will guide the choice of search terms. Search terms can be entered into a basic one-line search box, or entered into multiple boxes using the Advanced Search Tool.
An effective search term is the one that finds you articles that are useful to you whether long or short.
Example Search Terms:
As you skim through the articles take note of why you think each article might work. Jot it down, you will use it in your assignment.
Example articles with comments:
