Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Entrepreneurship Assignment LibGuide

Recommended resources and strategies for completing the research for your Entrepreneurship Business Concept Project.

Developing Database Search Terms and Strategies

Basic Searching 

note iconBasic Search Terms and Strategies

  • Nouns (names of some thing or someone) work best as search terms.
  • Make a list of words, word variations, and synonyms (different words that mean the same thing) to use when searching the databases.
  • Examples:
    • entrepreneur; entrepreneurship
    • SWOT, SWOT analysis
    • management; manager; operations management; project management; strategic management
    • business; business model; business structure; small business; micro-business
    • product; services
    • company; corporation
    • personnel; employee; staff
    • profit; profit margin
    • value; value proposition
    • consumer; customer, target-market; market segmentation; niche market

Advanced Searching

advanced search iconAdvanced Search Strategies

  • Use Boolean Operators (AND, OR, and NOT) to help you narrow or expand your results
    • Examples
      • Searching for restaurant AND delivery will give you results with both words present. Therefore, your results are fewer.
      • Using OR between similar keywords restaurant OR cafe will give you results that include either word alone or both words together. Therefore, your results are greater. A search for will retrieve either or both terms.

        The NOT operator gives you results from only one of your words -  delivery NOT mail - . Therefore, your results are fewer. Searching  eliminate articles containing the word mail from the results.

      • Most databases have an Advanced Search option that provdes you with three or more boxes to insert keywords, phrases, names etc. and options to choose AND, OR, and NOT from a drop-down menu.

  • Wildcard Searching - Truncation will save you time by searching or variations of a root word

    • Example
      • add an asterisk to a root word, manag* means you will locate articles or information for ALL variations of the root, manag*
      • manage, manages, manager, managers, managing, management

 

If you have trouble finding information

  • expand your list of search terms 
    • find more terms in the titles and description of articles
    • look for subject lists and bolded terms in the articles
  • try putting quotes or parentheses around phrases of more than one word to search for the phrase instead of the individual words separately

Library Databases

tutorials icon

Databases are collections of information:

  • peer-reviewed articles from academic (Scholarly) journals
  • articles in newspapers and magazines
  • eBooks
  • streaming video
  • reports, data, and statistics on national and international companies
  • laws and legal rulings

Credo Reference is a great starting point to learn the basics of a business topic. 

EBSCO and Gale are library database providers that offers several business-related choices. 

Video: Using Western Library Databases

Ask-a-Librarian

Ask-a-Librarian button

Reach out to a librarian if you have any questions about finding information in the library databases. Use the Ask-a-Librarian button at the left, or check beneath my profile pic below to see if I'm online for a Chat or feel free to reach out to me via email as well! I'm happy to help!


Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.