LibGuides: Educational Justice Resources: Western Library Online

Short Video: Using Western Library's Databases

Western Library: Complete A - Z Databases List
Link to a complete list of Western Library Databases. Use the "All Subjects" drop down menus to find databases in a specific subject area or the "Database Types" to find databases by source - newspapers, magazines, encyclopedias, peer-reviewed/scholarly articles, etc.
Database Intro Guide: Tutorials
LibGuide with video and screenshot tutorials that teach you about how to navigate the different Western Library databases by EBSCO, Gale, and more, to find articles and streaming video for homework and research assignments. NOTE: You'll be asked to login with your Western ID.

Educational Justice Topics - Full-Text Publications in Western Library Databases

Laptop user icon

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A giant database that covers a wide range of topics. Use it to find peer-reviewed scholarly articles, as well as articles from trade journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A great resource for writing assignments. Browse a wide list of subject categories from the database’s home page to find articles and information from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and multimedia. Content is provided in the fields of biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, psychology, and more. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.

Westesrn Library Education Databases

Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A resource for educators in a variety of roles from classroom teachers and administrators, to students preparing for a career in education. Content from magazines, journals, newspapers, and multimedia cover multiple levels of education and educational specialties such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing, as well as insights on issues in administration, funding, and policy. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Use this database to locate information in the field of education research. It contains full-text articles from professional magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and conference papers in a wide range of education topics. It also includes historical information about books and articles written in the last 100 years.

More Western Library Databases

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Higher education content, data, news, opinion pieces, and job postings. Get full access to the site by signing up for a free account using your Western email address. With an account you can access website directly (chronicle.com) and set personalized email notifications and newsletter preferences. Available to faculty, staff, and students.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on content related to diversity issues in the social sciences and liberal arts from both historical and contemporary perspectives. This collection explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community found in newspapers, magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, and multimedia. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Covers issues surrounding the role of gender in culture and society in content drawn from popular and trade magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers, and multimedia. Among the topics explored are gender identity, inclusion, equality, family relationships, marriage, children, workplace, health, education, and more. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Multiple-topic database that represents international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events such as business and technology, the environment and climate change, culture and society, health and medicine, and governments and political systems. Content includes magazine, journal, and news articles, and multimedia. Browse a list of topics from the home page.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find information for assignments and projects related to in the fields of literature, philosophy, the arts, history, and culture, with a special emphasis on literature and the literary arts. Look for ebooks, professional and scholarly journals, magazines, encyclopedia entries and more. Title coverage goes back as far as 1929.