Key emphasize is on how two-way, open communication endorses teachers' awareness of discrepancies within their student groups and offers alternative individualized learning styles. Reflecting on my own experience, outcomes form focus groups, and qualitative interviews, the paper concludes with that, by meeting essential physiological, pedagogical as well as belonging needs and esteem, educational communication leads our efforts in optimizing teaching technique in class management, students engagement, also guide our efforts to attain a motivational climate for interactive learning. Best practices in educational communication can boost teachers' efforts in employing the educational goals of HE, and recognize their societal impact. (ERIC: Link to Full-Text in upper left corner.)
AlAhmad, H. (2021). The role of educational communication in promoting a student-centered learning style in multicultural classrooms: a reflective essay on learning and teaching in higher dducation. International Journal of Research in Education and Science, 7(3), 838–851.
Students receive feedback from faculty in the form of grades and comments on papers but may not have the skills to correctly interpret or apply such corrective information. Feedback from professors may identify gaps in content knowledge or gaps in cognitive skills, but student receptivity to this critical information varies widely.
Price, M., Handley, K., Millar, J., & O’Donovan, B. (2010). Feedback : all that effort, but what is the effect? Assessment & Evaluation in Higher Education, 35(3), 277–289. https://doi.org/10.1080/02602930903541007
The article compares the learning and study strategies college students used in a course with the learning and study strategies their professors believe to be most important for success in the course. It says that there are different types of learning demands upon college students
Cultural responsiveness is a skill that is developed to respond to students' needs as they arise, similar to the way a baseball player fields a ball that is hit; no one can predict the exact bounce the ball will take, but keen awareness and finesse are needed for a productive response with favorable outcomes. Culturally responsive educators use multiple approaches to make students feel visible, valued, and essential in the classroom learning environment.
Flynn, J., James, R., Mathien, T., Mitchell, P., & Whalen, S. (2017). The overlooked context: pedagogies for engagement and empowerment at the community college. Curriculum and Teaching Dialogue, 19(1-2), 69A+. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A514850247/PROF?u=la74598&sid=bookmark-PROF&xid=3715b2fe
This database contains information related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other important areas in the field of education.
A resource for educators in a variety of roles from classroom teachers and administrators, to students preparing for a career in education. Content from magazines, journals, newspapers, and multimedia cover multiple levels of education and educational specialties such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing, as well as insights on issues in administration, funding, and policy. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Use this database to locate information in the field of education research. It contains full-text articles from professional magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and conference papers in a wide range of education topics. It also includes historical information about books and articles written in the last 100 years.
It’s a common perception that students who procrastinate do so because they don’t care about the assignment—and that’s usually wrong, argued Devon Price, a social psychology professor at Loyola University, in 2018. More often than not, the underlying reasons for procrastination fall under two categories: fear of failure or confusion about the first steps of an assignment.
We created this series to clarify the most effective ways institutions can leverage communication to set both their students and staff up for success. We place such an emphasis on communication because it bakes into student engagement like eggs in a cake: communication holds engagement intact, binding outcomes that span across a handful of high-level priorities.
The way people communicate is central to upholding the dignity of individuals and forming and maintaining positive relationships to enable person-centred care. It is a two way process, where individuals must be appropriately supported to communicate their needs, wishes and preferences to enable choice and control in decision making. Body language, words and tone are all indicators of communicating with respect, courtesy and integrity. The complexity of communication requires care and support workers to build effective relationships with individuals in order to identify barriers and facilitate meaningful interaction that upholds dignity.
"There are always barriers. Recognizing those barriers— and viewing them as legitimate — is often the first step to breaking “lazy” behavior patterns. So when I see a student failing to complete assignments, missing deadlines, or not delivering results in other aspects of their life, I’m moved to ask: what are the situational factors holding this student back? What needs are currently not being met? And, when it comes to behavioral “laziness,” I’m especially moved to ask: what are the barriers to action that I can’t see?"
Inclusive communication refers to the practice of engaging students without preferentially encouraging specific students or groups of students. When classroom communication is not inclusive, underrepresented students are less likely to participate and to learn.
Higher education content, data, news, opinion pieces, and job postings. Get full access to the site by signing up for a free account using your Western email address. With an account you can access website directly (chronicle.com) and set personalized email notifications and newsletter preferences. Available to faculty, staff, and students.
This database focuses on content related to diversity issues in the social sciences and liberal arts from both historical and contemporary perspectives. This collection explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community found in newspapers, magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, and multimedia. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Covers issues surrounding the role of gender in culture and society in content drawn from popular and trade magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers, and multimedia. Among the topics explored are gender identity, inclusion, equality, family relationships, marriage, children, workplace, health, education, and more. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Multiple-topic database that represents international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events such as business and technology, the environment and climate change, culture and society, health and medicine, and governments and political systems. Content includes magazine, journal, and news articles, and multimedia. Browse a list of topics from the home page.
Use this database to find information for assignments and projects related to in the fields of literature, philosophy, the arts, history, and culture, with a special emphasis on literature and the literary arts. Look for ebooks, professional and scholarly journals, magazines, encyclopedia entries and more. Title coverage goes back as far as 1929.