Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Research Skills for College Students: Step-by-Step

A start-to-finish guide through the research process.

Start Your Research Journey Here

why do people research  (curiosity, need-to-know, assignment) graphic

 

This guide will help you work your way through the  research process.  Just follow the simple steps below (in order). Need help? Email Linda or use the Ask a Librarian form to help you work through the final phases of the research process.

The Research Process: Six Simple Steps

Choosing a topic icon  Step 1: Choose your topic

  • Choose a topic that you enjoy or are interested in or curious about
    • Personal interest -  arts/crafts, sports, cars, cooking, gardening, genealogy, etc,
    • Career interest -  related to your program at Western or future job goal
    • The world around you - current events, news, social issues, politics, etc.

Magnifying glass icon find information   Step 2: Find information about your topic

  • Head for the library databases first. What are databases?
    • Online spaces where you can find electronic versions of newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, ebooks, data, statistics, business reports, and streaming video
    • College and public libraries subscribe to databases
    • Wide range of subject areas. 
    • Use email or share tools to send an article to yourself
    • Use citation tools to copy/paste your citation at the end of a paper
      • Sometimes a database citation will mess up the capitalization
      • Be sure to make the corrections before submitting your assignment
      • Also double-check that the italics in the source title and database name pasted. Fix it if not.
    • Available 24/7. Login with a student ID or library card from a public library
    • Link to Western Library's complete A-Z Databases list below.
    • Link to the LibGuides below to learn more about working with library databases.

funnel icon filter information sources    Step 3: Evaluate and filter your sources

  •  Different sources of information have different purposes. What kind of information do you need?
    • Straight data and facts?
    • Personal perspectives or opinions?
    •  Academic and scholarly?
    • Newspapers, magazines, or encyclopedia articles? 
  • Choose the best sources for what you are trying to communicate in your assignment.
    •  A good source backs up its arguments and ideas with solid data, and evidence that can be confirmed. and presented in a neutral tone.
    • A bad source generally takes a more emotional tone, and may exaggerate, mislead, or provide completely wrong data and information to "prove" their point.

puzzle pieces icon notice patterns of information  Step 4: Notice patterns and overlap in the information

  • Take notes as you skim and scan the research material 
    • Jot down the main facts, ideas, and concepts related to your topic
    • Link to the LibGuide (Notes: Methods and Resources for Taking Notes) below to learn more about taking notes
  • Notice the patterns in your research material
    • Are the same ideas, themes, and topics repeated in different sources?
      • These are the most important pieces of your topic,
      • They represent the main points, secondary points, and boundaries of the subject
      • They help you identify the major components of your topic
      • They help you identify most common thoughts and beliefs.

NOTE: If you see something mentioned only once or that don’t fit the common understanding of your topic, it's probably not worth including. 

Pro Con icon   Step 5: Look at different perspectives on your topic

  • At this point you've probably formed your own thoughts about your topic and you have the sources to support it.
  • Next, look for sources that show another perspective.
    • This is a hugely important step!
      • Knowing and understanding other perspectives
        • Provides the complete picture of the issue.
        • Avoids confirmation bias and demonstrates objectivity about the issue
        • Ensures you understand your perspective is not the only one. Confirmation bias
        • Shows the validity of your own beliefs
        • Shows you understand why others may have different ideas

puzzle icon putting pieces together  Step 6: Put all the pieces together

  • Apply your research to your paper, speech, or project
  • Be confident about your new area of knowledge.
    • Explain all aspects of the topic or issue  
      • The big picture
      • Details and small and nuanced points.
      • Show that for you "Points X, Y, and Z make sense because… "
      • Show that others consider perspectives "A, B, and C because…” 

NOTE: If you're not 100% convinced about points X, Y, and Z and perspectives A, B, and C, retrace your steps,

  • Go back and review the steps in the research process to fill in the gaps

Steps icon

Steps 1, 2 & 3 of the Research Process are covered more in-depth in other pages in the guide. Link to them on the left. Connect with the Learning Commons Writing Center for help with Steps 4 & 5.


Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.