Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Research Skills for College Students: Step-by-Step

A step-by-step in-depth start to finish guide through the research process.

Writing an Annotated Bilbiography

Writing icon

What is An Annotated Bibliography?

bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) used for researching a topic

  • called References if you are using APA Citations Style
  • called Works Cited if you are using MLA Citation Style
  • includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.)

An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation.

An annotated bibliographmeans and a short paragraph about the source is added to the citation. Examples of what the paragraph should include:

  • summary
    • purpose and main arguments of the source
    • topics covered
  • evaluation
    • author credentials and qualifications
    • reliability and accuracy, 
    • objectivity or bias
    • biased or objective
    • meets its stated goals
  • reflection
    • how the source fits into your research
    • how it helps you shape your argument
    • how it may have changed how you think about your topic

puzzle pieces icon

 

Annotated bibliographies are important because they can help you learn about the various perspectives relevant to your topic. You'll start to discover what the difference issues are and help you develop your own perspective about the topic. They can also be used as a personal pre-writing exercise to help you put your research puzzle together.

Links to More Information and a Video About Writing an Annotated Bibliography


Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.