Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Research Skills for College Students: Step-by-Step

A step-by-step in-depth start to finish guide through the research process.

Ask-a-Librarian

Ask-a-Librarian button

Reach out to a librarian if you have any questions about finding information in the library databases. Use the Ask-a-Librarian button at the left, or check beneath my profile pic below to see if I'm online for a Chat or feel free to reach out to me via email as well! I'm happy to help!

Short Video: How to Use Western Library Databases

Video Tutorials - EBSCO and Gale Databases

Tutorials - EBSCO and Gale Databases

The videos below will cover the basics of finding articles in several type of databases. After you've watched the videos, dive in and explore. You'll catch on quickly as you look for research information. Approach the results with an open mind, explore what information exists. Research is not about finding an article with a specific focus, or seeking right or wrong answers, It's about surveying the landscape of information and choosing articles that address the focus of your research topic.

The EBSCO and Gale Databases, below, are multiple-topic databases, and cover a broad range of topics. Western Library has EBSCO and Gale Databases They have  of look and operate like those you see below. Once you are familiar with how they work - explore some of the EBSCO and Gales databases that focus on single subject areas.

Links to More LibGuides About Using Western Library Databases


Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.