Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Database Tutorials LibGuide

Learn how to use Western Library databses for business research.

Business Insights Global Overview

Business Insights: Global 

  • search for companies, industries, case studies, and comparison charts
  • find detailed company, country, and industry profiles
  • locate analyses of economies, companies and industries
  • look up financials and investment reports
  • research SWOT reports
  • locate market share reports
  • research company histories (global)
  • industry research essays
  • find case studies
  • research scholarly journals
  • look for business news for deep research coverage of global economies
  • locate graphing and data-conversion options
  • watch business executive video interviews and lessons for deeper insight into issues and decision-making.

Video Tutoriasl: Business Insights: Global

Business Insights: Global - The Basics

The search page provides a Basic Search box where you enter the name of the company you wish to research. It also displays some of the other features - such as financial studies, case studies, etc. - available elsewhere in the database.

Business Insights: Global Search Page screenshot

The Results Page will display a list of results such as titles, sources, and links to information about the company you are searching. Note: not all companies have information listed in the database. You may have to shift your research focus to another company.

Business Insights: Global Pet Smart results list screenshot

Company Information - PetSmart:  find key company financial information at the stop of the page and other information in the side boxes.

Business Insights Global Pet Smart Details screenshot

In the side boxes find related information such as such as Financial Data, Case Studies, Market Share Reports, Legal Issues, Strategic Planning, articles from Trade Magazines and more. The options vary according too the company you are researching. 

Pet Smart details part 2 screenshot

Case studies describe a specific business situation. This case study provides information about the failure of Pets.com, an internet start up and competitor of PetSmart,, Inc.

Pet smart more details scfreenshot

Case study details include the origins of the company Pets.com as a new online model of doing business, and how it was one of many of the internet startups of that era to go  out of business do to high operating costs and low revenue. 

pet smart case study detail screenshot

Video Tutorial - Business: Gale OneFile

video Tutorial Icon

Video Tutorial: Business Plans - Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile)

video Tutorial Icon

Business and Entrepreneurship (GaleOneFile) Tutorial - The Basics

Business (Gale OneFile) - articles in the fields of a

  • accounting
  • economics 
  • finance
  • marketing
  • management and strategy
  • business theory and practice

Business and trade publications are updated daily to reflect the activities of companies and industries worldwide. In addition, this database provides access to a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.

BASIC AND ADVANCED SEARCH BOXES

Gale One File Search page screenshot

TOPIC FINDER - A VISUAL SEARCH TOOL

TILE VIEW - Discover subtopics related to your main topic displayed in colorful tiles.

topic finder search box screenshot

WHEEL VIEW - Discover subtopics related to your main topic displayed in colorful segments of a wheel.

topic finder topics wheel screenshot

EXAMPLE:  ARTICLE LISTS FOR THE SUBTOPIC "INDUSTRY PET" SEEN IN THE TOPIC FINDERS.

Both Tile AND Wheel Views show there are 92 articles about the Pet Industry including articles about places such as Veritas Farms and Pets Global. These articles are announcements from trade industry sources.

Results list screenshot 

SUBJECT SEARCHING

Example: If you type the name of a company or any keyword into a Basic Search box, the database provides a list of related search terms as alternatives. Add any relevant terms to you search term list to use later.

tools and filters subject guide screenshot


Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.