LibGuides: Business Operations Management Course Guide: Best Library Databases for Local Company Information

Search Tips and Strategies

Keep in mind that databases are machines and only understand the actual words you type, but not their meaning. Playing with search terms, database tools, filters, and features list. Review several pages of results. Play detective. These activities will inspire other ideas as well as improve the chances of finding relevant information.

Bracket your terms: try using quotation marks or parenthesis around a multi-word name.
- "Festival Foods" or (Festival Foods).
Use the Advanced Search tool
- Top line: "Festival Foods"
- Middle line: Wisconsin
Explore other database tools as well as filters - publication type (newspaper, magazine, report, trade journal, etc.), publication date range, subject, etc.
Explore other database features - ex. ReferenceSolutions database US Consumers/Lifestyles/Automobiles database

Example: Results of ReferenceSolutions: US Businesses Database

Below are screenshots of the results of a ReferenceSolutions database US Businesses. Data and information for this database are compiled from public records. Skim down the page for information that can help shed light on the business structure and activities for your business.

Key points to note:

NAICS Code - 81111104 - General Automotive Repair
- use this NAICS code to research other businesses in this category to help you fill any gaps of information about auto repair business
Years in database - indicates sustainability
Sales Volume
Business Expenditures
Nearby businesses
Competitors

Ask yourself what these small points of information can tell you about the nature of the business.

ReferenceSolutions This link opens in a new window
A premier source for business and consumer research data. Contains detailed information on over 15 million companies and over 260 million consumers. Every record can be exported to spreadsheets. A great source for entrepreneurship activities, marketing projects, demographics research, and students seeking employment.

Tutorial - US Businesses Databases
In-depth overview of using the US Businesses Database in ReferenceSolutions. Data is compiled from telephone directories, secretaries of state, courthouses. and other public record notices.

Example: U.S. Newsstream (Proquest)

U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Find articles from current and past issues of key national and regional sources including the Wisconsin State Journal, Star Tribune (Minneapolis), Green Bay Press Gazette, The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.

Example: EBSCO Databases

Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find regional business publications from the United States and Canada. Topics range from presidential candidates, to franchise restaurants, to the retail industry, to business planning, political participation, and more. Content includes newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires with full-text content coverage provided by The Washington Post, PR Newswire US spanning more than 20 years of coverage.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find more than a thousand state and national newspapers with millions of full-text articles, as well as nearly a million television and radio news scripts.

Regional Business News (EBSCO) (articles) Start by typing in the name of your company and looking at the results. Click on links and see what information exists and pursue the information you can use.

In EBSCO databases be sure the Full Text box in the left column on the page of articles (results) is checked. This ensures you will only see full articles, not summaries.

Screenshot EBSCO Full Text and Publication Date filters

note-taking icon As you skim and read, jot down keywords along with your thoughts about how these strategies and where they fit into the supply chain.