Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Interior Design Program Guide

General purpose guide collecting information and library resources for interior design.

Books and Ebooks

booksBooks are an excellent source of information and inspiration for interior design. They organize information on a specific topic, collect images and inspiration, and convey respected practices and theories in the field. There is a curated collection of print books available in ITC 300 (ID classroom), more books available in the Learning Commons (Student Success Center Room 201), even more available via interlibrary loan or from other area libraries, and still others available for purchase from your favorite bookshop. See below for details. 

Interior Design Library (Located in ITC Room 300)

Additional Books Available in the Learning Commons

You are also welcome to browse and borrow from the materials available in the Western Technical College Learning Commons. The books below represent a sample of books available. 

Want to search for a specific book? Search the Western library catalog!

Need a book that Western doesn't have? Western students and staff have access to interlibrary loan, which allows us to borrow books and materials from other libraries. Please reach out to library@westerntc.edu with any questions or to place your request

Understanding Library Organization at Western

How library organization works...

Western's library collection is organized in a specific way so that users can easily and quickly locate the books they need and want. It's designed both for browsing (when you don't know what you want) and for quickly locating specific items (when you know exactly what you want).

How is Western's library collection organized?

Western, like many other college libraries, uses the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System to organize library materials by subject. The call number of a book is like the book’s address, providing valuable information about where to find the book within the library collection.

How do I find what I'm looking for?

You can use the library catalog to find the call number of a specific book. You can also use the catalog to search by subject or topic or use the list below to help you find books at Western related to your program and subject area.

But what if I need help?

If you need assistance, just ask a librarian!

For more information about navigating the library collection to find books and articles, use the guide below.

Library of Congress Subject Categories Relevant to Interior Design

  • Class – Fine Arts.
  • Subclass NA – Architecture
  • NA 737 – Architects and their works
  • NA 6200 – Retail, shops, corporate, office
  • NA 7100-7884 – Domestic architecture, houses, dwellings
  • Subclass NK – Decorative Arts
  • NK 800-2200 – Designers and their works
  • NK 1700-2195 – Interior design and decoration
  • NK 2200-2750 – Furniture
  • NK 2775-2898 – Rugs and carpets
  • NK 3175-3296.3 – Upholstery, drapery
  • NK 3375-3496.3 – Wallpapers
  • NK 8800-9505.5 – Textiles
  • Subclass TH – Building Construction
  • TH 880 – Green/sustainable building and design
  • TH 7700-7975 – Illumination, lighting
  • TT 180-200 – Woodworking, furniture making, upholstering
  • TT 300-382.8 – Painting, wood finishing
  • TT 387-410 – Soft home furnishings

Digital Book Collections (eBooks)

Electronic books at Western

Does the library have digital books available?

In addition to our collection of print books, Western students and staff have access to an extensive collection of digital books. Search the library catalog (linked above) and limit by format to eBooks or search the collections linked below.

Selected Ebooks (Browse EBSCO Ebook Collection for additional titles)


Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.