More Library Databases for Culture Research - Speech Assignment - Culture Research (Linda Knox)

VIDEO: Western Library Databases

Develop Search Terms - Keywords and Phrases (Use Your Notes)

Research Process - Example (Kiribati)

While reading the Family section below, the concept of "bubuti" captured my attention and I decided to research it further.

Before I go to the databases, I need to build a list of Search Terms (keywords and phrases) that might help me find information about the topic, "bubuti," using my notes and highlights.

Search Terms: Keyword List

Add variations of a keyword to your list. Different authors use different words that may mean the same thing. If you have trouble find information with one keyword, try another.

Kiribati
bubuti; bubuti system
family, family structure, family size
custom; tradition; understanding
request
agreement; verbal agreement

Repeat this process with several of the sections you find interesting. You'll be glad you did!

Heads Up Before You Start!

Two Key Points

Do some quick searching to be sure there is enough information to prepare your speech. If there's not move on to another topic.
You will see a LOT of articles that make absolutely no sense for your topic. Why?

Search Process Example

search engines are machines and only respond to letters and words, not what the letters and words mean
- search engines show you articles that might have only a part of your search term buried someplace in the articles.
  - I entered my primary keyword, bubuti, into the search box pf the database Global Issues (Gale in Context).but got only articles with "bubu" in the title (???)

Yep! It's frustrating! Sometimes, it's downright depressing. Research is like detective work, you have to continually look for clues beyond just the keyword. If your keywords aren't working look around for more clues about where you might find more information.

Next, I tried putting the word in quotes - "bubuti."
- Putting words or phrases in quotes tells the database to keep the word(s) together, but that didn't work either.
- - Yikes! Only 24 results....
  - News (22) and Viewpoint (1) articles do not have the information I am looking for.
  - Reference (1) is a great article on Kiribati to add to what I had found in CultureGrams
    - nothing more about "bubuti"
  - Try the EXPLORE box and "More Like This"
    - still nothing
- Plan B - choose a new topic

Be patient. It's a process. Look for clues like the EXPLORE box or other links and lists that will help you find information.
Leave yourself enough time to research and prep for your speech.
Reach out for help if you get stuck! My contact info is on the left.

NOTE - Keep Track of Your Articles

Use the Share or Email Tools in the article to send the article to yourself so you have quick and easy access to it if you need it again. OR open a Word doc and copy paste the page link back to the article (NOT the browser URL - it goes nowhere.)
- "Get Link" in at the top of the page in Gale database
- "Permalink" on the right side of the page in EBSCO databases

Searching Library Databases

Library Database for Culture Research In-Depth

Academic OneFile (Gale) ~[392]~
A great resource for writing assignments. Browse a wide list of subject categories from the database’s home page to find articles and information from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and multimedia. Content is provided in the fields of biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, psychology, and more. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) ~[392]~
A giant database that covers a wide range of topics. Use it to find peer-reviewed scholarly articles, as well as articles from trade journals, newspapers, and magazines.
College (Gale in Context) ~[392]~
A great source of information for essays, speeches, and presentations. Browse a wide range of topic categories from the home page including current events, social sciences, geography, biography, and history, to science and literature. Search for background sources as well as more in-depth content in newspapers, magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, multimedia, and links to quality websites.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) ~[392]~
This database focuses on content related to diversity issues in the social sciences and liberal arts from both historical and contemporary perspectives. This collection explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community found in newspapers, magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, and multimedia. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) ~[392]~
Multiple-topic database that represents international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events such as business and technology, the environment and climate change, culture and society, health and medicine, and governments and political systems. Content includes magazine, journal, and news articles, and multimedia. Browse a list of topics from the home page.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) ~[392]~
Use this database to find information for assignments and projects related to in the fields of literature, philosophy, the arts, history, and culture, with a special emphasis on literature and the literary arts. Look for ebooks, professional and scholarly journals, magazines, encyclopedia entries and more. Title coverage goes back as far as 1929.
World History (Gale in Context) ~[392]~
A great source for reference and in-depth information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. Access content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to quality websites. Browse a variety of topics from the home page including events, trends, cultures, societies, governments, political movements, economics, and religion.