Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Legal Studies Program LibGuide

This guide collects information, websites, and library resources for completing assignments and preparing for a career as a paralegal.

Wisconsin State Legal Forms

Wisconsin State Law and Legislative Websites

pillars icon

 

Wisconsin Cited as St. or Rev. St. W.S.A

Codes and Regulaiton - Wisconsin and La Crosse

Wisconsin Administrative Register

The Wisconsin Administrative Register is the official publication of the updates and changes of the Wisconsin Administrative Code. 

Wisconsin regulations are called rules, though you may hear the terms "rules" and "regulations" used interchangeably. Wisconsin administrative rules are found in the Wisconsin Administrative Code (WAC). Just like federal regulations, Wisconsin rules have the force of law. Their underlying authority comes from statutes and the Wisconsin Constitution. 

The Wisconsin Administrative Code is divided into chapters, alphabetically, by agency. Agency chapters begin with an abbreviated designation for the agency name. For example, the first chapter is the "Accounting Examining Board," which has the code abbreviation Accy. The final chapter is Workforce Development, which has the abbreviation DWD − for Department of Workforce Development. The table of contents for the Code lists the full agency names and abbreviations. A menu for administrative code-related pages is available on the state legislature website.  

An online version of the Wisconsin Administrative Code is published by the state government, on the Wisconsin Legislature page.  

State and Federal Court Cases & Case Law

search icon

 

Find full-text of State and Federal Case Law through Western's Nexis Uni Database:

 

1)  Click All of Nexis Uni dropdown (left of main search box)

2) Click Content Collection. Select Cases.

3) Click Cases and Codes and checkmark the appropriate court(s):

  • Wisconsin
  • United States Supreme Court
  • Federal Court of Appeals
  • Federal District Court
  • Or another court.

4) Enter your search terms in the box at the top and perform search.

pillars icon

 

Direct links to websites about State and Federal Courts are listed below.

Federal Laws and Statutes

pillars icon

 

United States Cited as Stat. U.S.C.S.

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

Law and Legal Resource Guide - La Crosse Public Library

                books icon            Law & Legal Resources Guide - La Crosse Public Library
Titles in italics are owned by the La Crosse Public Library.
Ask at the desk on the second floor to see books that are in the closed stacks.

  • Index Digest to Opinions of the Attorney General of Wisconsin 1973 [1990] (R 348.77505 W753o in

  • Callaghan’s Wisconsin Reports (R 345.22 W753RC; most current five years in closed stacks) Cases
  • Contract Law in Wisconsin (R 345.22 W753C in closed stacks) State Bar of Wisconsin publication.
  • Employment Law in Wisconsin (R344.0113 AA88E in closed stacks)
  • Family Law in Wisconsin (R 346.73016 L822S in closed stacks) State Bar of Wisconsin publication.
  • A Guide for Wisconsin Nonprofit Organizations (R 346.775 G941 in closed stacks) State Bar of Wisconsin publication.
  • New Wisconsin Family Code and Related Statutes (R 346.015 W753 2021 in closed stacks) State Bar of Wisconsin publication.
  • West’s Wisconsin Key Number Digest (R 345.22 W753K in closed stacks) Topical index to state and federal judicial decisions.
  • Wisconsin Civil Litigation Codebook (R 347.775 W753R in closed stacks) State Bar of Wisconsin publication.
  • Wisconsin Court Rules and Procedure-Local (R 347.775 W753C in closed stacks) Includes La Crosse County closed stacks) determined in the Supreme Court and Court of Appeals of Wisconsin.
  • Wisconsin Guide to Citation (R 340.072 W753 in closed stacks)
  • Wisconsin Juvenile Law Handbook (R345.77508 P771W in closed stacks) State Bar of Wisconsin publication.
  • Wisconsin Pleading and Practice (R 345.22 W753WPL in closed stacks)
  • Wisconsin Practice Series (R 345.22 W753WP in closed stacks) Volumes include:
    • Methods of Practice
    • Civil Procedure (including forms)
    • Wisconsin Evidence
    • Civil Discovery
    • Criminal Practice and Procedure
    • Trial Handbook for Wisconsin Lawyers
    • Wisconsin Collection Law
    • Wisconsin Workers’ Compensation Law
    • Wisconsin Elder Law

Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.