Cultural Resources - Information for Newcomers to the United States

Resources are available in Dari and Pashto and include:
-- Benefits for Afghan Humanitarian Parolees
-- Benefits for Afghan and Iraqi Special Immigrant Visa (SIV) Holders or SQ/SI Parolees
-- Eligibility Documentation for SIV Holders or SQ/SI Parolees from Afghanistan and Iraq
-- ORR Afghan-Related Policy Guidance
-- ORR State Contacts List
-- Health Coverage Options for Afghan Evacuees

Resources include:
-- Legal Services
-- Refugee Resources
-- Cultural Links
-- Partner Agencies
-- Statistics, Population & Census Data

HIAS celebrates more than 100 years of helping refugees escape persecution and resettle in safety; reuniting families who have been separated; and helping them build new lives in safety and freedom. HIAS continues to resettle the most vulnerable refugees of all faiths and ethnicities from all over the world. We facilitate the application process for the most vulnerable refugees who can be resettled in countries around the world. In the U.S. we work with local social service organizations around the country to welcome refugees and help them integrate into their communities and build new lives.

Helps people affected by humanitarian crises—including the climate crisis—to survive, recover and rebuild their lives. Founded at the call of Albert Einstein in 1933, the IRC is now at work in over 40 crisis-affected countries as well as communities throughout Europe and the Americas. We deliver lasting impact by providing health care, helping children learn, and empowering individuals and communities to become self-reliant, always seeking to address the inequalities facing women and girls.

Organization for Refuge, Asylum and Migration (ORAM). Informed by its intensive legal fieldwork and resettlement efforts with LGBTI refugees, ORAM’s international and domestic advocacy is designed to protect LGBTI refugees and asylum seekers who are fleeing persecution worldwide. ORAM continuously gives key educators, community leaders, and decision-makers information about LGBTI refugees, and advocates for inclusion of this vulnerable population on the international human rights agenda.

Switchboard is a one-stop resource hub for refugee service providers in the United States. Funded by the Office of Refugee Resettlement (ORR), Switchboard offers a library of learning resources, an online evidence database, a range of self-paced e-learning courses, regular live learning opportunities, and on-demand technical assistance for ORR-funded organizations.

USAHello is a non-profit organization that uses the power of the internet to help immigrants, asylum seekers, refugees and the communities that welcome them build brighter futures for themselves and their families. USAHello’s platform serves as a hub for trustworthy information and educational resources visited by hundreds of thousands of people from diverse backgrounds every year. We work hard to be relevant to the communities we serve. Our information is written in plain English and translated into additional languages to ensure it is accessible to as many people as possible. Our website covers a wide range of topics, and our FindHello app connects people to local services. Our online classroom offers free citizenship and GED® preparation classes.

This page offers information in several languages on a variety of naturalization-related topics such as citizenship, Green Cards, employee verification, biometrics, how to report fraud and avoid immigration scams, and humanitarian programs. Resources available in many languages. If there are differences between English and another language, the English version is the official version. These resources are also available in American Sign Language, braille, and large print. For information in Spanish, please use the link below to connect to our website in Spanish.

Los afganos con permiso humanitario que recibieron la Hoja Informativa de Permiso Humanitario para Afganos de parte del Servicio de Aduanas y Protección Fronteriza, y no fueron a los lugares administrados por el gobierno donde se brindan los servicios de vacunación, deben dar fe de su estatus de vacunación.

For adult education practitioners - provides a community of practice, self-paced online courses, and publications. The LINCS online Learner Center connects your adult learners to free online resources to reach their life goals such as resources for specific careers and skills in those careers, for example, measuring drug dosages in Nursing.

This site offers evidence-based resources to enhance the impact of adult English Language Learner (ELL) instruction nationwide and in your community. Each topic-driven suite of resources includes an issue brief, online learning module, and a companion learning resource for educators.

Open education resources covering topics such as:
-- Beginner ESL for Adult Learners
-- Adult ELL Phonics
-- Reading Basics for ELL
-- Health Problems for ELL
and more.

NCELA collects, coordinates, and conveys a broad range of research and resources in support of an inclusive approach to high quality education for ELs.

A technical assistance program designed to strengthen linkages between Cultural Orientation (CO) programs and staff working at Resettlement Support Centers overseas and at national Resettlement Agencies and their affiliates in the United States. The goal of preparing refugees to navigate an unfamiliar landscape, society, and culture is one shared by many individuals and organizations. CORE provides responsive, practical, and timely information, and comprehensive resource materials. Resources include population specific backgrounder documents, fact sheets, informative videos, comprehensive CO curricula and student handbooks (available in a number of languages), as well as online learning opportunities and other materials.

Comprised of 5 entities: Heartland Alliance, Heartland Alliance Health, Heartland Alliance International, Heartland Housing, and Heartland Human Care Services. We provide a continuum of programs that address the root causes of poverty, generate social change, and inspire people to build better lives not only for themselves but for their communities. Our approach is multi-faceted and intentional, and intersects through three focus areas: health and healing, safety and justice, and economic opportunity.

Founded in 2001, the Migration Policy Institute (MPI) has established itself as a leading institution in the field of migration policy and as a source of authoritative research, learning opportunities, and new policy ideas.

Established in 1950 to provide and coordinate international relief for refugees and displaced people. UNHCR offers them protection and assistance at every stage of their ordeal:
-- shelter, food, water and medical care
-- works to improve refugees’ quality of life and future opportunities, providing infrastructure, schools and income generating projects
-- when refugees are able to return home, assists with transport, documentation and essential items to make the transition as smooth as possible
-- when home, provides ongoing support and education to help refugees rebuild their communities and their livelihoods

Welcoming America is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that leads a movement of inclusive communities becoming more prosperous by ensuring everyone belongs. When communities recognize the value being truly welcoming and intentionally work toward the inclusion of newcomers, they can create a culture and policy environment where all residents feel empowered to work with each other in strengthening the social, civic, and economic fabric.

Join the national effort to help families fleeing from Afghanistan and Ukraine land on their feet.