Cultural Resources - Information for Newcomers to the United States
Resources for U.S. newcomers and the people who support them. Guide developed collaboratively by the Aghan Educational Support Team in 2022. While some resources are specific to Afghan resettlement, many resources are useful for newcomers from a wide rang
Mate works with iOS devices (iPhone and iPad), MacOS, and web browsers - Safari (Mac), Chrome, Firefox, Operal, and Microsoft Edge. Instantly translate text in 103 languages. Automatically translate web pages, emails, messages and notes. Use the app as a handy language/translation dictionary.
If you have difficulty understanding English, you may, free of charge, request language assistance services for this Department information by calling 1-800- USA-LEARN (1-800-872-5327) (TTY: 1-800-877-8339), or email us at: Ed.Language.Assistance@ed.gov.
A searchable database of over 7,000 local literacy programs and services, GED testing centers across the country, and community education programs across the country. There are listings for Early Childhood, Family Literacy, High School Equivalency/Adult Basic Education, English Language Learning, and Citizenship Classes. You can search for listings in your community and narrow your search for more specific results.
Innovative literacy resources for tutors and educators. intended to help connect agencies serving elder immigrants/refugees with resources for effective literacy programs. The curriculum includes 12 units across themes which are meaningful to elders and adults… an additional unit titled Working in the US was included to complement the goals of elders with limited English proficiency who are interested in finding paid employment. You can request a free copy of the curriculum through providing your name and email.
This package includes materials in Pashto and Dari for young children. These materials have been curated for the purpose of responding to the immediate and transition learning needs of children aged 5 to 9 years old. The materials were developed through the efforts of Creative Associates International in partnership with the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan’s Ministry of Education under the USAID-funded All Children Reading (ACR-Afghanistan). They have been approved in terms of illustration and content appropriateness for the target audience. The materials can be used either in digital or paper format.
Free phone app for both children and adult learners new to the Roman alphabet. Over 300 fun, bite-sized lessons teaching the alphabet, phonics, and sight words. Download from Apple's app store or on Google Play.
Printable booklet for Afghan newcomers. 12 pages of essential foods and spices that Afghans will be looking for at the grocery store. In English, but room available for translations into Pashto and/or Dari. Under the CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 License.
Worksheets and/or presentation for English Language Learners. The main focus of this resource is to show how different foods are labeled at an American grocery store. However, it can also be used to show a typical shopping trip at Walmart. Under the CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 License.
Worksheets and/or presentation for English Language Learners. The main focus of this resource is to show how meat is labeled in many different ways in English. Some people may choose not to eat a certain type of meat, for religious reasons, health reasons, etc, and they will want to know what types of meat to avoid. Under the CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 License.
This video briefly describes some basics for teaching Survival English. It highlights important Survival English topics, discusses how to simplify English Phrases, and gives an example of how to implement two of those topics in a classroom setting. The video draws on experiences from teaching the Afghan guests at Fort McCoy in December-February 2021-2022. Permanent link coming soon!
Beginning Alphabetics Tests and Tools (BATT) strives to provide a principled system for ABE/ESL teachers wanting to develop their students’ knowledge of Roman alphabet letters, English letter-sound patterns, sight or high frequency words, and transfer of those letter-sound-word skills to text fluency and comprehension.
This curriculum provides activities and materials for integrating English Language education and community-based tasks. Includes activities such as asking for directions, calling businesses on the phone, using the internet to find places, searching the internet for shopping, and looking for housing, and exploring technical colleges and elementary school websites.
Online Lessons for English Language Learners. Topics include basic letters and colors, communication, community, culture, grammar, everyday activities, food, health, home, nature and science, people, relationships, shopping, transportation and emergencies, & work and school. From the Immigrant Support Services of British Columbia (ISSofBC).
This site offers evidence-based resources to enhance the impact of adult English Language Learner (ELL) instruction nationwide and in your community. Each topic-driven suite of resources includes an issue brief, online learning module, and a companion learning resource for educators.
"The U.S. Department of Education is proud to offer this collection of materials and tools to help educators and communities provide educational opportunity to our Afghan allies of every age," said U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona. "It is so important that all learners across our nation—including our Afghan allies—have access to high-quality and culturally responsive academic resources, and I am encouraged that the Department is supporting this effort." — Secretary of Education, Miguel A. Cardona
This website is for English Language Learners. Quizzes, word games, word puzzles, proverbs, slang expressions, anagrams, a random-sentence generator and other computer assisted language learning activities.
USA Learns is a free website that helps adults learn English, gain job skills, and prepare for U.S. citizenship online. USA Learns is a joint effort of the Sacramento County Office of Education and Internet and Media Services.
USA Learns is a joint effort of the Sacramento County Office of Education and Internet and Media Services. Sacramento County Office of Education developed the USA Learns Web site and has developed many of the most widely used Web resources in adult education, including English For All, CDLP Adult Learning Activities (resources for adult learners), and The Study Place.The website was built by the Sacramento County Office of Education, which is located in California, United States.
This collection of forty theme-based readers, along with an instructor's guide, will support ESL literacy instructor's to create comprehensive, theme-based lessons for adult ESL literacy learners. The themes were carefully chosen and are both of high interest to learners, and more importantly, relevant to their lives. Every effort was made to ensure the stories would authentically represent learners themselves as well as events and issues that a typical learner may experience.
This website, TeachingEnglish by the British Council, contains a wide range of resources for teaching English to adults. Find practical resources for your adult classroom - lesson plans, activities, and English for Business.
This open educational resource (OER) reader contains nine original stories about healing, discovery, survival, relationships, justice, and connections to the land explored through the lens of the plant world. These stories, written specifically for adults. This level 1 reader, one of a series of six readers, is roughly equivalent to beginner to grade 1.5 in the K-12 system. Font size and line spacing can be adjusted in the online view, and have been enhanced for the print and PDF versions for easier reading.