LibGuides: Business Professionalism and Mindset Information: Self-Development Example Articles

Self-Development: Example Resources from Library Databases

Examples: Credo Reference Articles

Adult Learners
From: The SAGE Encyclopedia of Higher Education
Self-Determination
From: The Encyclopedia of Adolescence
Self-Concept
From: The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Use this database to understand basic concepts taught in your courses. It's also a great database for the first step in your research process. It contains short articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference sources on a wide range of subjects. Get started on your assignment or research project by learning about key people, places, dates, events, concepts, and ideas related to your topic.

Examples: College (Gale OneFile) Articles

All About Drucker: The Process of Self Development
From: Information Outlook, Vol. 6, Issue 5, May 2002
Why Mindsets Matter in Entrepreneurship Education
From: Techniques, Vol. 92, Issue 5, May 2017
In Search of Self-Directed Learners
From: Training, Vol. 35, Issue 5, May 1998

College (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
A great source of information for essays, speeches, and presentations. Browse a wide range of topic categories from the home page including current events, social sciences, geography, biography, and history, to science and literature. Search for background sources as well as more in-depth content in newspapers, magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, multimedia, and links to quality websites.

Examples: MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO) Articles

NOTE: On the results page, check the Full Text box on the left side of the page of results to get only complete articles. Also, check the Magazines box to see only magazine articles

My Journey with Self-Directed Learning
From: Techniques: Connecting Education and Careers,Vol. 90 Issue 2, Feb2015
The Secrets of Self-Improvement
From: Scientific American Mind. Vol. 23 Issue 1, Mar/Apr2012,
Adaptivity Through Self-Directed Learning to Meet the Challenges of Our Ever Changing World
From: Adults Learning, Vol. 30 Issue 2, May2019

MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find content from full-text general-interest magazines and newspapers, with content that includes essays, short stories, and poetry. Also find journal articles and reference books, in a wide range of subjects including business, health, fashion, sports, personal finance, and more.

Example: Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

NOTE: On the results page, check the Full Text box on the left side of the page of results to get only complete articles. Also, check the Peer-Reviewed and Academic Journals boxes to see only peer-reviewed articles from Academic Journals

Thriving at Workplace: Contributing to Self-development, Career Development, and Better Performance in Information Organizations
Pakistan Journal of Information Management & Libraries. 2016 Special issue, Vol. 17, p109-119. 11p. 1 Diagram, 3 Charts, 2 Graphs.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A giant database that covers a wide range of topics. Use it to find peer-reviewed scholarly articles, as well as articles from trade journals, newspapers, and magazines.