While Western's library contains primarily digital resources, we also have a varied collection of books in print. These materials are selected by librarians to support the programs, courses, faculty, and students at Western. Our collection contains nonfiction materials to support the curriculum and a high-interest pleasure reading collection.
Western's library collection is organized in a specific way so that users can easily and quickly locate the books they need and want. It's designed both for browsing (when you don't know what you want) and for quickly locating specific items (when you know exactly what you want).
Western, like many other college libraries, uses the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System to organize library materials by subject. The call number of a book is like the book’s address, providing valuable information about where to find the book within the library collection.
You can use the library catalog to find the call number of a specific book. You can also use the catalog to search by subject or topic or use the list below to help you find books at Western related to your program and subject area.
If you need assistance, just ask a librarian! We can help you with searching the catalog, checking out or renewing your books, finding alternative sources if you can't find what you need, or requesting a book from another library via interlibrary loan.
Below, you will find a sample of books available at the Western Learning Commons.
Want to search for a specific book? Search the Western library catalog!
Need a book that Western doesn't have? Western students and staff have access to interlibrary loan, which allows us to borrow books and materials from other libraries. Please reach out to library@westerntc.edu with any questions or to place your request
Dental Assistants and Hygienists by 
Essentials of Dental Radiography for Dental Assistants and Hygienists by 
Mosby's Dental Drug Reference by 
Secrets of the CDA Exam Study Guide by 
Mosby's Dental Assisting Exam Review by YES! In addition to our collection of print books, Western students and staff have access to an extensive collection of digital books.
Search the library catalog (linked above) and limit by the desired format or search directly in the collections linked below.
Use this database to understand basic concepts taught in your courses. It's also a great database for the first step in your research process. It contains short articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference sources on a wide range of subjects. Get started on your assignment or research project by learning about key people, places, dates, events, concepts, and ideas related to your topic.
