How to Find Background Information About Your Topic - Bundle - Assignment Resources

Credo Reference: Definitions and Concept

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Use this database to understand basic concepts taught in your courses. It's also a great database for the first step in your research process. It contains short articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference sources on a wide range of subjects. Get started on your assignment or research project by learning about key people, places, dates, events, concepts, and ideas related to your topic.

Early Stage Research

First stage of research - find articles with useful background information

General articles are easy-to-read and provide an overview of the issues about a topic.

explanations and descriptions of what the issue is about
vocabulary related to the topic
found in databases

Which databases do I use to find background information?

Login with your Western ID

Credo Reference
MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO)
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Libby (ebooks and audiobooks)

For psychology topics use keywords and search terms like:

schizophrenia
bipolar disorder
anxiety
addiction
personality disorder

Examples of psychology articles from Credo Reference.

Depression
Depression is a common disorder primarily characterized by either a low or depressed mood or a loss of interest or pleasure in nearly all activities.
Bipolar Disorder
Bipolar disorder, which used to be called manic depressive illness or manic depression, is a mental disorder characterized by wide mood swings from high (manic) to low (depressed).
Cognitive Behavioral Therapy
Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) is an effective and popular type of therapy for a wide range of mental health and other issues.
The Diagnosis of Schizophrenia
Drawing upon interviews with a number of patients he met in the United States, Professor David Goldberg vividly demonstrates most of the first-rank symptoms identified by psychiatrist Kurt Schneider.
PTSD: Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
A psychiatric disorder, PTSD generally follows life-threatening events like natural disasters, terrorist incidents, and military combat. Unfortunately, many PTSD victims don’t realize what afflicts them. This program expands awareness and knowledge of the disorder and explores the latest treatment options available today
Addiction
As the deadliest drug epidemic in American history rages, follow the cutting-edge work of doctors and scientists as they explore how addiction affects the brain and how we should address our opioid crisis.

Direct links to the databases you can use to find background information.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Use this database to understand basic concepts taught in your courses. It's also a great database for the first step in your research process. It contains short articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference sources on a wide range of subjects. Get started on your assignment or research project by learning about key people, places, dates, events, concepts, and ideas related to your topic.
MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find content from full-text general-interest magazines and newspapers, with content that includes essays, short stories, and poetry. Also find journal articles and reference books, in a wide range of subjects including business, health, fashion, sports, personal finance, and more.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Look for full-text e-books on a wide-range of subjects. Read the content on your computer or device, or download all or part of the book. You can print, save, or email pages to yourself.
Libby This link opens in a new window
Libby makes reading and listening to books easy and convenient! Access a growing collection of popular fiction and nonfiction ebooks and digital audiobooks for leisure reading, as well as career, technical, and academic subjects. Click the link to login with your Western ID or download the Libby App. Choose Western Technical College from the drop-down list when you see "Sign in with My Card." Got questions or need help? Ask a Librarian!