LibGuides: Bundle Assignments (Library Resources): How to Find Background Information About Your Topic

Early Stage Research

General articles are easy-to-read and provide an overview of the issues about a topic.

Login with your Western ID

(Updated Jan. 2025)

Depression
Depression is a common disorder primarily characterized by either a low or depressed mood or a loss of interest or pleasure in nearly all activities.
Bipolar Disorder
Bipolar disorder, which used to be called manic depressive illness or manic depression, is a mental disorder characterized by wide mood swings from high (manic) to low (depressed).
Cognitive Behavioral Therapy
Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) is an effective and popular type of therapy for a wide range of mental health and other issues.
Schizophrenia
Schizophrenia is a serious neurological disorder of unknown cause characterized by a specific type of disordered thinking and behavior. Typical symptoms of schizophrenia include psychotic episodes, delusions, paranoia, and loss of contact with reality.
PTSD: Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
Post-traumatic stress disorder, or PTSD, is a condition in which a person has long lasting psychological symptoms after experiencing an extremely stressful event. Unfortunately, many PTSD victims don’t realize what afflicts them.
Addiction
Addiction is a chronic and relapsing disorder marked by persistent substance use despite a host of negative consequences. The U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration's Controlled Substances Act (CSA) identifies five classes of drugs: narcotics, depressants, stimulants, hallucinogens, and anabolic steroids.

Credo Reference
Use this database to understand basic concepts taught in your courses. It's also a great database for the first step in your research process. It contains short articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference sources on a wide range of subjects. Get started on your assignment or research project by learning about key people, places, dates, events, concepts, and ideas related to your topic.
MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO)
Find content from full-text general-interest magazines and newspapers, with content that includes essays, short stories, and poetry. Also find journal articles and reference books, in a wide range of subjects including business, health, fashion, sports, personal finance, and more.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Look for full-text e-books on a wide-range of subjects. Read the content on your computer or device, or download all or part of the book. You can print, save, or email pages to yourself.
Libby
Libby makes reading and listening to books easy and convenient! Access a growing collection of popular fiction and nonfiction ebooks and digital audiobooks for leisure reading, as well as career, technical, and academic subjects. Click the link to login with your Western ID or download the Libby App. Choose Western Technical College from the drop-down list when you see "Sign in with My Card." Got questions or need help? Ask a Librarian!