How to Find Peer-Reviewed / Scholarly Articles - Bundle - Assignment Resources

About Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Articles

For some research projects you might be asked to find a scholarly or peer-reviewed source. What are they?

are written by experts - look for an author's credentials or affiliations at the top or bottom of the article
are written for other experts or people wanting in-depth information.
- your paper, project or presentation adds another a voice in an ongoing conversation about your topic
use scholarly language with technical vocabulary or words specific to the field being written about.
provide verifiable and reliable evidence for what's written/
- NOTE: even articles that provide background information should contain well researched information that the reader can verify.
may be peer reviewed - a process where other experts review and assess the information before it's public
- some databases will let you check a box to limit to peer reviewed articles
- you can also look at the journal's website which will explain the editorial process including whether or not the journal is peer reviewed

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A giant database that covers a wide range of topics. Use it to find peer-reviewed scholarly articles, as well as articles from trade journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A great resource for writing assignments. Browse a wide list of subject categories from the database’s home page to find articles and information from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and multimedia. Content is provided in the fields of biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, psychology, and more. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This database covers a wide range of fields in the study of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology. A great database for students, faculty, researchers, psychologists, and counselors, and any job or career that involves working with people. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.