LibGuides: Argument and Rhetoric OER/ZTC Resources: Library Databases (ZTC)

Credo Reference - Library Database for Issues Research (Zero Textbook Cost - ZTC)

Argument -- (Credo Reference Results Page)
Mind Map links to related topics on the subject of argument - argumentation theory, critical thinking, logic, fallacy, straw man, faulty reasoning, etc.
The Relevance of Rhetoric -- (Credo Reference Article)
Attention goes to rhetorical concerns that are most relevant to ongoing and emerging issues in the English language arts: rhetorical situations, author-audience relations, and rhetorical purposes and approaches.
Universal Basic Income - Top 3 Pros and Cons (Credo Reference Article)
Proponents of UBI say that it reduces poverty and income inequality, encourages employment and skills training, and values normally unpaid roles such as homemakers and caregivers. They also say it improves the health of recipients and empowers women. Opponents of UBI say that it does not reduce poverty, that it deprives the poor of needed targeted support, provides a disincentive to work, and weakens the economy. They also say it is unaffordable and less effective than targeted aid and welfare.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Use this database to understand basic concepts taught in your courses. It's also a great database for the first step in your research process. It contains short articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference sources on a wide range of subjects. Get started on your assignment or research project by learning about key people, places, dates, events, concepts, and ideas related to your topic.

An Economic Case for Universal Basic Income (Opposing Viewpoints Article)
The idea of a universal basic income--a no-strings-attached monthly stipend to every resident--has been widely touted as a substitute for a social safety net that could satisfy liberals and libertarians alike. We think it could do much more, serving as the rock on which to build a fairer and more efficient economy. Indeed, combined with the elimination of some tax preferences that distort markets, it could put the economy on a sustainable long-term growth path even as it reduces the degree of income inequality.
Universal Basic Income (Opposing Viewpoints Article)
Universal basic income (UBI) programs would replace traditional social welfare and social insurance programs with a single program that provides a guaranteed amount of income to every person. Proponents believe UBI could help reduce poverty and income inequality and address the changes in the job market caused by increased automation. Opponents fear that UBI would increase inflation, disincentivize work and prudent fiscal management, and prove too expensive to maintain.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
This is a great source for assignments related to current events and important social issues. This database contains full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, biographies, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites. Additional features include pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, court cases, and issues of interest. Choose a research topic from a wide range of areas from genetic testing to gun safety to women in professional sports, to recycling, cell phones in schools, or medical technology, and much, much more.

Why a Universal Basic Income Would Be a Calamity (SIRS Article)
UBI supporters would counter that their system would free people to pursue self-improvement and to take risks. America's experience over the past couple of decades suggests that the opposite is more likely. Labor Department data show that at the end of June [2017] the U.S. had 6.2 million vacant jobs. Millions of skilled manufacturing and cybersecurity jobs will go unfilled in the coming years." (Wall Street Journal) This editorial argues why a universal basic income would be bad on various levels.
We Need a Universal Basic Income to End Poverty (SIRS Article)
The only way we can give people true pathways to make decisions in their lives is by ensuring them more disposable income so they have freedom to invent, start a business, or advance their education. This is not a handout, it is a just investment in the people of our commonwealth and this country. This is about creating opportunity; this is about fostering innovation; this is about building strong, loving families. This is about acknowledging everything that poor and working class people put into this economy that they are never compensated for.

SIRS Issues Researcher (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Use this database if you need to find a research topic to complete an assignment. This database dives into current global social issues and provides content such as analysis and opinion via pro/con articles, government documents, primary sources, newswires, charts, maps, images, statistics, newspapers, magazine, and scholarly journal articles, as well as links to websites. Topic groups include business and economics; communication and technology; environment and science; world culture and politics; ethics; civil rights and liberties; school, family, and youth; and health and wellness.

Basic Income: A Sellout of the American Dream (MasterFILE Complete Article)
The article discusses the economic and social impact of the implementation of the universal basic income in the U.S., including its impact on employment in the country and attitudes among the Silicon Valley (Santa Clara Valley), California high technology industry on basic income. An overview of the universal basic income's impact on poverty in the U.S. is discussed.
Frozen Assets (MasterFILE Complete Article)
The author discusses the Permanent Fund Dividend (PFD) program of Alaska. She mentions how the PFD provides money to Alaska residents from wealth derived from the state's petroleum industry, how the payments help alleviate poverty in the state as a form of universal basic income, and how the state is looking at taxation and other means to preserve the PFD as petroleum prices fall.

MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find content from full-text general-interest magazines and newspapers, with content that includes essays, short stories, and poetry. Also find journal articles and reference books, in a wide range of subjects including business, health, fashion, sports, personal finance, and more.