Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math Resources Overview Guide

General purpose subject guide with resources pertaining to science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.

Just getting started with searching?

General introductions to research with library databases

Tutorials and tip sheets on using specific library databases

Best Bet Databases - Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

You can find a wide variety of information and resources using library databases. These resources allow you to search for a topic, browse a specific publication, or find articles relevant for your research. Most databases (including the ones below) provide tools such as basic and advanced search boxes, source citations, subject suggestions, and search filters.

Navigating the Website and Accessing Library Resources 24/7

This 3-minute screencast walks you through the process of accessing library resources 24/7 from our website. It demonstrates how to search for ebooks using the library catalog, find and access the list of library databases, find research guides from your librarians, and use the contact form to ask us your questions. 

Contact a librarian for individualized assistance.

If you'd like additional help or more specific assistance, reach out to a Student Learning Librarian. Your Student Learning Librarians (Ellen and Linda) are happy to help with all kinds of research. We can help with:

  • ​Choosing search terms
  • Suggesting useful tools for your research
  • Filling "gaps" in your research
  • Tracking down full text articles or citations
  • Requesting materials from other libraries
  • and more!

Reach out to us in any of the following ways:

Email us at library@westerntc.edu

Fill out the Ask a Librarian form on our website.


Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.