Physical Therapist Assistant Program Guide

Open textbook has been designed to be an introductory training to the entry-level position, Physical Therapy Aide. As part of College of the Sequoias Physical Therapy Aide program, this textbook was used alongside hands-on lab training to train students to work as Physical Therapy Aides. It discusses some of the history and current context of Physical Therapy, provides instruction on common PT Aide job activities (like modalities and transfers), introduces general physiology, reviews commonly-used medical terminology, and, in an effort to embed necessary remediation for the PT Aide program, also includes effective career skills and habits, like business letter writing, resumes, effective communication skills, and appropriate workplace conduct.

An introduction to medical documentation for the physical therapist assistant. Includes reflection activities as well as documentation exercises and activities.

Body Physics sticks to the basic functioning of the human body, from motion to metabolism, as a common theme through which fundamental physics topics are introduced. Related practice, reinforcement and Lab activities are included.

National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) is the library of the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR). They collect, catalog, and disseminate the articles, reports, curricula, guides, and other publications on a wide range of issues including technology, health and function, independent living, and capacity building.

Free database of over 53,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.

The Physiopedia charity provides an evidence-based and continually updating knowledge resource that is free for anyone to access - some people call it "Wikipedia for the physiotherapy profession". (from the About page)

Pros: Large collection of textbooks with published peer reviews by professors, does include some upper level/graduate textbooks, easy to use interface.
Cons: As the name suggests, the content is limited to textbooks.

Pros: High quality textbooks for introductory level college courses.
Cons: Little content for upper level courses. Not much coverage outside of General Studies.

Pros: By using an ISBN, you can find MERLOT Open Educational Resources (OER) that can be used to supplement most textbooks.
Cons: Does not offer textbook replacements, but rather supplementary materials.

Pros: There are lots of filtering and limiting options when searching, wide range of disciplines represented, wide variety of material types.
Cons: Search interface is a bit clunky.

Massive collection of open textbooks, learning objects, and other content. These can be used as is, remixed, or combined with other platforms.

Pros: Searches content from over 60 different sources, you can sort by license type and type of resource.
Cons: Can't sort by education level.

Pros: Simultaneously searches multiple repositories, could give you good ideas of other repositories to look in.
Cons: Search interface is difficult to use, search results sometimes take you to the main page of different repository and then you have to redo your search, not easy to determine licenses for items.

Pros: One of the largest OER repositories, covers multiple disciplines, allows for sorting by education level, reuse options, and by standard.
Cons: Rating system is a bit unclear.