ERA is an open-access digital library at the University of Alberta, containing different collections of educational materials. A collection has been curated by the Medical Laboratory Science (MLS) program, which currently contains over 300 hematology images.
"NIGMS offers scientific images and videos, plus scientist interviews, profiles, and photos." All are freely available for use with proper attribution.
"Open-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections."
"Free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images."
"Growing collection of over 1100 text supported microscopic and macroscopic images and videos drawn from commercially prepared slide collections and live specimens commonly used in the study of Biology, Botany, Zoology, Histology and Microbiology." High quality images released into the public domain.
Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures.
Why does "free-to-use" matter?
When you find an image online, the best practice is to assume that its use is protected by copyright. Some creators (and more every day) are relaxing the protections provided by copyright and intentionally are releasing their work under open content licenses such as Creative Commons licenses.
This guide page collects some recommended collections and repositories for finding images that are designated for open or educational use. Most are released with Creative Commons licenses. For more information about understanding copyright and licensing, visit this page on our OER guide.
If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.
